h1

Hakushaku to Yousei (Earl and Fairy) Episode One – He’s a Refined Villain

October 29, 2008

Hakushaku to Yousei

Hakushaku to Yousei is the first anime that landed on my Fall season list, but October came and flooded everyone with new shows – fairies had to wait. However, I am excited to go back to Earl and Fairy again, and present Kitsune’s Thoughts first collaborative work :) Sakura, a prolific writer for Calamitous Intents, generously provided her extensive commentary, while I conjured some magical screenshots ;)


Genres: adventure, magic, romance

Plot Summary: The story is set in 19th century England and centers on a “fairy doctor” named Lydia. Her life takes a 180-degrees turn when she meets a legendary blue knight count named Edgar and his crew. He hires her as an adviser during his quest to obtain a treasured sword that was supposed to be handed down to him by his family. (ANN)

Staff:

Director: Koichiro SOHTOME (Mushishi)
Art Director: Mitsuharu MIYAMAE (background art for Akira)
Color Design: Rika NISHIO (Gantz, Gungrave, Mushishi, Witch Hunter Robin)
Sound Director: Kazuya TANAKA (Mushishi, Now and Then, Here and There, Rurouni Kenshin)


So I had really wanted to check this anime out for many reasons. The blonde hair bishie of course was an obvious one ;) but also because the setting had me really excited.

I’m British born and raised, I moved to the United States a year after marrying my husband since he’s American. It’s odd the things that make you think of home, and I have to admit I seem to get particularly nostalgic about England in the fall season.

Opening

It took me three listens, but I’ve finally decided that I do like the opening theme (Feeling – by AciD Flavour) to this. It starts out with some lively violins and stays pretty lively throughout, getting quite catchy as it goes on.

Well I have to say I’m definitely looking forward to more of this show. I enjoy the fantasy element to it, Edgar is very charming and Lydia is quite the firecracker. I’m going to enjoy the fireworks between these two, that’s for certain!

7 comments

  1. Great review by Sakura with the help in Screenshots by Kitsune! Do you two plan on trying this again?
    Anyway, I personally found Earl and Fairy to be a good series, but it was bombarded with a little too many clichés. I liked the animation though, and I do plan on watching the series the whole way through.


  2. Thank you Lostty :) If everything goes well, we’ll continue covering this anime :)

    I liked the fantasy element of this show – many current anime don’t have that. The voice actors are nice, and I especially like Lydia :) You’ve got to love the talking cat too! :)

    I was bothered somewhat by the director and the overuse of 1, 2, 3 approach: long-, mid-, short-distance shots in succession.

    Also they used sliding extensively, but that can be used as a challenge to stitch together some shots :P The Lydia + Cat shot was somewhat difficult because the cat was moving.

    Overall, I like the anime so far, and I enjoyed collaborating with Sakura very much :)


  3. Thanks lostty ^-^

    I absolutely plan on watching this so will be writing more.

    There were lots of cliches and we all know the biggest one will happen in the end, that being she’ll fall for Edgar.

    But right now I’m enjoying the fact that despite obviously not having had a lot cute guy attention fall her way, Lydia isn’t fawning all over him.

    She gets dazzled by all the sparkles now and then, but she hasn’t been completely taken in by him… yet XD


  4. But right now I’m enjoying the fact that despite obviously not having had a lot cute guy attention fall her way, Lydia isn’t fawning all over him.

    Oh, but what about the scenes shown in the ending of the subsequent episodes :P


  5. But I haven’t seen that yet… XD


  6. They even have the cat there lol


  7. [...] but we are back with the coverage of the second episode of Hakushaku to Yousei! Just like with the first episode, Sakura provided the commentary, and I took the [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

