h1

Kuroshitsuji – Episode 24 (End)

March 27, 2009

Kuroshitsuji 24 End

Other Kuroshitsuji Posts

What a finale! The first part of the episode was really scary due to Ash to Angela switching and Ash’s grimaces D: Why all this plot of world destruction? I think Ash just needed a hug…

Sabastian’s true form was especially dreadful, but I did like his boots :P Later we find out that Pluto and all servants are dead :( It was very sad…

It was nice of Agni and Prince to help with recovery of the city :) What the hell is with the Queen? O_O How come she is alive? It turns out the Queen is fake. It looks like Ciel’s dad had some relationship with her.

The writers took a very direct route with the ending. It was nice to see them take the time for Ciel to recall some of his memories and talk to Sebastian. However, the scene at the very ending was a little rushed – I wanted to see a slower pace and, perhaps, a kiss on a forehead :)

This conclusion leaves very little possibility for a sequel. The only thing I can see is a remake of the anime based strictly on manga. However, I don’t see how such a remake can be better in terms of production values. Sure, the plot has plenty of room for improvement, but director, character design, music, and cast fit perfectly. Thus, I don’t think the re-make will be better, but we can hope :)

Overall, although the show has some shortcomings in storytelling, I enjoyed the series and thank those who visited and commented on my photoessays :)

If reading Kuroshitsuji manga can’t fill the void left after the end of the anime, perhaps, checking out some Spring 2009 Anime will help you :)

121 comments

  1. Erm, I guess you don’t understand Japanese? ^^;

    1. We don’t know if the servants were dead or not. Sabastian confirmed that Pluto was dead, but about the servants, he said at “that time” (should be when Sabastian took Ciel away on the boat) they were still breathing;

    2. That queen (the old woman) talking near the end of the episode was fake, the police department’s commissioner said it directly. He added that it didn’t matter if she’s real or fake as long as most people believed her, which might imply that the imposter would to act as the real queen from that point onwards.


    • Yes, my understanding of Japanese is limited :)

      Thank you for your clarifications :)


  2. such a sad ending T^T i wanted them all to live T_T why didnt they just take off the stupid collar that was controlling puru T_T maylene, fini, bard and puru died T_T ciel died to T_T sebastain adn tanaka are the ones alive, besides the others T^T still sad now i will cry for months


    • Yes, it is a sad ending :( The servants might be still alive though.

      Please don’t cry! Manga will take a different direction :)


  3. Sebastian had hooker boots.
    Wow that was a good series.
    I demand a cracktastic ova with chibis and fanservice!


    • haha Yes, OVA would be nice :)


  4. I updated the post with an AMV based on the last episode and (author deleted the AMV) a video of the final scene :)


  5. *sigh* Well, that’s it, then. It’s kind of weird to be reading the manga after the TV series is over. Like, ‘I don’t know which to believe!’ ;w;

    But speaking of this last episode specifically…I loved Sebastian’s boots. Holy crap. I’d like to see his entire ensemble. I knew it was coming, but to see Ciel dead and giving his soul over to Sebastian…it was just very sad and slightly scary to me. And I couldn’t help but wonder what exactly Sebastian -does-. My fangirl mind wants to imagine it’s some sort of rape sadistic intimacy. Who knows, it may be?

    I thought it would’ve been cool to hear Sebastian say ‘Itadakimasu’ when the screen went black, but that would’ve been a bit too Demon Detective Nougami Neuro, right? XD


    • Yes, it is weird reading manga after the end of anime, but believe the manga :)

      Oh yeah, Sebastian’s boots are great! :)

      Oh my… You have a rich imagination :) If I were the director, I would make the scene longer, including more extended eye contact at close proximity. Then Sebastian would kiss Ciel on the forehead, taking his soul, and would hug his lifeless body…

      haha Itadakimasu end would be too scary :P


  6. I updated the post with some quotes and final dialog :)


  7. definately a dark anime, i thought it was a little to dark for me, but i like how you got close to all of the characters, and how unique it was. thats the only reason i came back to it every week, i hope to see more shows like that, which are addicting and funny.


    • Indeed, it was a dark anime, but it provided a nice dose of humor to lighten the mood :)

      One of the things I like about this anime is an excellent director. The variety of angles and poignant composition never let the anime have a dull moment – that’s why I like taking screenshots for Kuroshitsuji so much :) Of course, Sebastian is one of the most fascinating characters I’ve seen in a while :)


      • Sebastian also have lots of interesting facial expressions. I’ve tons of his beautiful pics now…haha.


        • Oh yeah, his expressions are great, especially evil smiles :P


  8. That was rather sad, actually, when you think about it. ): But the anime wasn’t without it’s ups and downs, but at least they managed to end it on a serious note that is befitting for the series. It was quite interesting that the ending sequence actually heralded the conclusion.

    I was a bit disappointed that Ashela didn’t put up much a fight against Sebastian when he reveals his true form. Makes me wonder just how powerful he is, because once he goes all ‘demonic’ everything seems to fall in to place. But Ashela really got what he/she deserved, though violently. Thank goodness the graphic details were spared.

    As for Sebastian’s true form… well I’m not going to forget that one easily any time. D: Stiletto boots? Which self-righteous male wears that? To think that a demon would wear high heels. My cousin will never let me forget it.

    I suppose we know that Ciel would eventually die, but yeah seeing it makes it more… final I suppose. I read from another site that the queen in this episode is an imposter. :/ And did the servants die?

    And lastly, if you want to see a couple of clearer shots on Sebastian’s true form, this blogger actually Photoshopped some: http://pineapplefloats.wordpress.com/2009/03/26/%e9%bb%92%e5%9f%b7%e4%ba%8b-24%e8%a9%b1-kuroshitsuji-ep-24/

    Sorry for the long comment! (,:


    • Yes, it was sad :(

      See, the thing is that Ashela was in a male form. Male form sucks! It took Sebastian and a squad of death gods to pin her down. Ash is a weakling :P Well, there were some blood splashed, but I am also glad that they didn’t go too far.

      Yes, boots are awesome :) I think they fit demon form quite well :) Hmm… it makes me want to draw evil Sebastian form :P Oh, I wish I had more time…

      Yes, the Queen is an imposter, but the servants might be alive because Sebastian did say they were still breathing at the time.

      Thank you for the link :) Nothing new there except the last screenshot. Does Sebastian has a goat beard in his true form? lol That’s quite fitting for the devil :) Medieval depiction of the devil was usually in a form of a goat with such a beard :)


  9. OMG I loved this episode sooo much. Yet I also hated it for its lack of conclusion. No, not the ciel part, that was pretty much a closed deal. But other character’s were just left hanging.

    I wanted to know what had happened to the servants afterwards “still breathing” is just too vague. we also get very few stuff on the rest of the characters, but oh well I guess the producers can only fit so much in 24 minutes T.T.

    Am I the only one that thought Tenshi-san went down rather quickly, despite all the build up.

    OMG Sebastian’s stiletto boots were awesome, that and that last smile before the screen went black at the end made my heart stop.

    Noooooooo… why did Lau die??? yes four episodes later I’m still grieving. I guess a small part of me was hoping that he was still alive and that he would have some sort of appearance at the end, you know with Souma and the others T.T.

    Umm.. Where is Tanaka? Did he die? was he already dead and and was only alive under some sort of demon contract? where did he go? I need answers T.T

    Poor Elizabeth. Part of her will probably always be waiting for Ciel to come back.

    Great episode, sorry for the long comment.

    I loved your screenshots, could I use some for my site? I will give you full credit ofcourse ^.^


    • Yes, it was a nice episode, but many things were left open to interpretation.

      I do think that the servants have survived :)

      Oh, you are definitely not the only one who thought that Ashela was defeated too fast once Sebastian transformed. It seems kind of odd, but makes sense. They wanted to show how powerful he really is, and how terrified a fallen angel is in front of a true demon.

      Yes, I think everyone agrees that Sebastian’s boots are awesome :)

      Indeed, Sebastian last smile was scary.

      Lau was a very interesting character. Did he really die? He had a serious wound, but it was not clear to me that it was fatal.

      I think Tanaka died sometime ago, and chibi form that we see is a sustained due to Sebastian’s support.

      Yes, Elizabeth will be very upset about Ciel’s death. They’ve been friends for a long time and she was his fiance… I liked the part where a flower ring reaches Ciel…

      I am glad you liked my screenshots :) Thank you for asking – feel free to use some on your site :)


  10. It was a sad sad ending, but I think it was alright and predictable for me, being a dark series ^^. But yeah, here’s me hoping for an OVA and the manga’s ending to be… diferrent XD.

    But OMG for a second I thought there would be a kiss >.< (too much dreaming… lol)
    well, off to go read doujins…


    • Yes, it was predictable, but still sad ending.

      haha Yes, I also thought of a kiss :P

      Oh, I see. So you’ll play that doujin game with explicit yaoi content? :P


  11. So its over….

    …I feel empty….no wonder. And sad…that’s a little surprise considering I did see it coming…

    I liked the fight and Ash’s end, teared up and reduced to nothing. I just wish I could have seen Sebastian’s true form. Ironically, I only liked Ash physically when he went psychotic. He still disgusted me though. As for Sebastian, this was the first episode where I truly liked and fell for him. He was kind; truly kind.

    I think the servants lived…or that’s what I wanted to believe so I’ll keep on believing that.

    As for Ciel, I was touched when he let go, and then on that last boat ride….I wonder if dead’s really like that? to me it was sad, but beautiful and peaceful.

    The last scene was superb. I still feel like crying…Sebastian truly was kind to Ciel, I choose to believe that. And Ciel was truly a brave kid…I wished to see his soul under Sebastian’s care, but that won’t happen so I’ll stay sad, and then I’ll chose to believe that Sebastian did cared for his young master and will care for his soul, even if his body died u.u…


    • Yes, even though you know it is coming, it is always sad in the end… I know it all too well…

      The fight between Ashela and Sebastian was a bit too violent for my taste, but it was appropriate.

      Ah, I think they didn’t show Sebastian’s true form on purpose to ignite imagination of viewers that would result in speculation and fanart, resulting in more popularity :)

      In this episode Ash form was too scary to me :P

      Indeed, Sebastian was kind :)

      It was not very clear if servants survived, but the possibility was certainly there. I think they did survive :)

      Yes, the boat scene was nice and peaceful. Every person’s death is different – a process that may end in various stages. The stages are not discrete and vary considerably, but Kübler-Ross developed a somewhat accurate model. Ciel was at peace in the end and accepted his fate.

      Yes, the last scene was good. Ciel has uncharacteristically strong character for such a young person. Sebastian will take care of his soul.


  12. I noticed that some people say sorry about long comments. I would like to reiterate that I enjoy reading all your comments, especially long ones, and appreciate all your opinions – never hesitate to say what is on your mind :)


  13. Ciel: “Will it hurt?” Sebastian: “Yes, a little. I’ll keep it as gentle as possible.”
    So, much, innuendo XD So did Sebastian actually take Ciel’s soul?


    • haha Sounds like you also have a rich imagination :P

      Well, everything suggests that Sebastian did take Ciel’s soul, but since the act (of whatever your imagination can conjure :P ) was not shown, the slight possibility that the soul was not taken is still there.

      As you can see from the last shots, Sebastian was aiming for Ciel’s natural eye. It might be possible that the part of the soul that was designated for Sebastian, was used in another way that kept Ciel alive. Instead of taking his soul, Sebastian made Ciel a demon :P In Kuroshitsuji sequel Ciel will wear a cloth on both of his eyes instead of an eyepatch :) That’s highly unlikely though :P


      • Sequel? Have they green lit the second season?


        • No, that was just my imagination :P


  14. i dont think that sebby ate ciel’s soul..he said that he’s tired of just eating souls and he had his chance once before to took ciel’s soul and havent.. he probably turned him into demon or something and i havent seen that he killed him!! i’m very interested in his true form,i think its woman XD … anyway, for me, ciel is still alive!!!! hope for season 2!!


    • Oh, Sebastian said that he is tired of eating souls? That’s interesting :)

      The reason why Sebastian didn’t take Ciel’s soul before were people involved in Ciel’s parent’s deaths were still alive I think.

      Yes, it is possible that Sebastian’s other form is a woman :) See, woman demon vs man angel – clearly woman demon is stronger :)

      Oh, I can see it now… woman Sebastian in hot boots and goat beard… Looks delicious :P

      Yes, it would be interesting to see a sequel :)


    • ciel is dead sebby told him himself that he would be soon and he doesn’t lie the reason he didn’t kill ciel last time was because the contract wasn’t fulfilled and his parents murderer was still alive until the end. and he said he was tired of eating regular souls but that’s why he wanted ciel’s because his would be so delicious ciel died the person that sebastian wanted to eat the soul of. the contract was binding ciel merely fulfilled his side after his parents vengeance was done.


  15. Something very interesting, check out this page:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sebastien_Michaelis

    Apparently Sebastian’s name wasn’t just randomly assigned then, for aesthetic appeal or whatever.


    • Thank you for mentioning this :) I also wrote about it in my character post about Sebastian :) Warning: The linked post contains many pretty pictures of Sebastian. I am not responsible for any effects that might follow after such an exposure :P


  16. Sebastian to me, doesn’t look scary in demon form…from what you DO see. But oh well.


    • Oh, but what the mind imagines is much scarier :P


  17. [...] Kuroshitsuji (End) Maaya voiced Ciel [...]


  18. Hmm..well yes, it is true you cant do much to the anime if you actually SAW Sebastian kill Ciel but you didnt. So we dont really know what happend. For all we know Sebastian just to the contract off and made Ciel pass out and take him back to someone who can take care of him. Many possiblity’s await when you dont see what happen’s when the screen goes blank.. :)


    • Yes, although everything indicated that Sebastian took Ciel’s virginity soul, other possibilities exist because we have not seen the act :)


  19. at firts…thaks for the anime and the translation…
    then..well..i really want to see sebastian`s real form…[whith that boots...who dosnt want to se him]
    am..If Ash need a hug..i haven t got any problem to give it to her/him…but well he/she didnt ask for it..so sad D=
    and well..the final scene…i was specting sometingh more…as you said…but im happy….it was good…not fullfilled my expectation but…i love it =P

    [sorry about my english...its not my first language so..its difficult =P]


    • I am sure we’ll see some fanart of Sebastian’s true form :) I’ll post the pictures if I find some :)

      Yes, some people have poor coping skills. When they are sad, they just keep it all to themselves. It is best to seek support when one does not feel well. Talk to your friends and family, and if people around you are not keen enough to see that you need a hug, you just might ask for it :) That’s the problem of Ash. He should have drank some tea with Sebastian and Undertaker and discussed all the issues he has. They would hug each other and everything would be good :)

      Yes, the last scene was good, but still left some content for the imagination of a spectator.

      [ Don't worry about your English - what you said is clear :) ]


  20. I wonder if you’ve notice this before ‘
    the isle of death‘. It’s the island that Seb ferries Ciel to.


    • Oh, that’s very interesting :) Thank you for mentioning it :) This is yet another Kuroshitsuji reference to history and art :)


      • Thank God someone noticed that :) I was wrecking my mind of where I saw that painting before and how it was called :) thanks :)


  21. When I first saw Sebastian’s demon eyes, they reminded me of Resident Evil’s mutants hehehe… and Ciel’s dad… is a hottie! Beautiful screenshots! And I didn’t feel the end coming so soon, so I’m kind of mourning the end of a great anime right now… it’s hard for me to find, interest, and dedicate myself to one :P You’re really making an effort to reply to all your commentors, I appreciate that ^_^ thanks for your hard work and have a nice day!


    • Yes, Sebastian’s eyes are scary D: Ciel’s dad is hot indeed :)

      Thank you, I am glad you like my screenshots :)

      It was a sad end, and it certainly left us with wanting more.

      Yes, I try to reply to every comment :) Thank you for stopping by :)


  22. and still not a living soul knows what that song is at the end?!! the one that starts when Sebastian starts to “do his thing”

    since the beginning of the series i’ve been going mad trying to find it but no such luck! ugh!

    *shoots self*

    on another note:
    thanks soooooooo much for all the screencaps and stuff for the past months. You were my best source for them and cool things Kuro-related.


    • Oh, Kuroshitsuji OST, where are you?! Many people were wondering about Kuroshitsuji songs, but it seems we’ll just have to wait…

      *shoots self*

      *takes Er!ka’s soul* :P

      Thank you for visiting :) I am glad that you liked my screenshots :)


  23. hmm… apparently I’m missing some essential information S: (watching a show half-asleep is NOT good Y_Y) .. could you please tell me why are some people the person they really are and have someone else’s body parts ?? XDD like the queen .. her body was ..someting else … and ciel’s dad (the one with angela in the fire was ciels dad right??… in the scene where ciel is remembering.. not exactly remembring.. but.. well yknow XDD)…ANOTHER thing … were angela and ash the same “person” from the begining?? or did they mix like the queen S: … and about that puppet or whatever it was… who controlled it ?? and why did he turned the girls into dolls ?? … i think thats all S: … (thats a lot..sorry… but i had to watch it really late because im busy X_X) … i would really appreciate if you HELP me whith that … and im sorry or my bad english Y_Y


    • Please get enough sleep for the sake of your health!

      Good questions :) I’ll try to answer your questions, but they reflect only my interpretation and understanding.

      The Queen was very upset about the death of her husband and even wanted to commit suicide, but Ash conveniently appeared and merged the Queen with her husband, rejuvenating her in the process.

      Angela presented a similar merger of his parents to Ciel while she was manipulating him.

      Angela and Ash are the same person, but I definitely prefer Angela :)

      Angela controlled the puppet. I don’t know why exactly the girls were turned into dolls.

      No problem :)


  24. the devil is i the fourm of ciels dad, witch is kinda wierd


    • It makes sense to me. God and devil are entities consisting of energy that can take on any form. Ciel’s father was especially dear to him, and Sebastian took on the form that would be easy for a boy to relate to.


  25. I loved the ending!!! But i was also super sad!!! I hoped there was some kinda loop hole where Sebsastian and Ciel would stay alive and stuff. But I think the ending was…AMAZING!!! I hope the OST comes out soon! I loved the music, fitted every mood perfectly!


    • Yes, the ending was very sad :(

      Well, they did leave a tiny possibility that Ciel can be still alive hypothetically because we don’t really see the final act.

      Indeed, the music in Kuroshitsuji was amazing! :) I can’t wait for the OST :)


  26. Hi there!
    Sorry I know its random but I just had to comment on your little blog here ^^. I happen to find on the look for a clip of the last ep.
    Ah, to be honest it made me sad all over again! XD I just recently finished the anime and admittingly was completely stalling before I saw the last ep. because I just didn’t want it to end! That last scene got to me bad! So thanks for the screencaps and your adding of the quotes, it’s really neat!
    I also just began reading the manga and im half way through, so like others mentioned it’s a bit odd reading it after seeing the anime, there is a void!! lol I knew I loved Sebastian but I didn’t know I’d miss him this much.
    Funny you should mention you like the boots, I didn’t like them, but they’re not a big deal ^^ I did love his demon eyes though lol, and didn’t find his true form scary, sort of..like “oh my, he’s so damn powerful”lol

    I adored the music as well!! I was hoping the OST was out already, but I haven’t really found info on it and I only found the character cd for Sebastian, which I can’t complain for. =3
    I especially love the piece that played through out the series and at that very last scene, it made it so much more meaninful, that I doubt it even needed any dialogue for it to be so beautiful.
    I’ll shut up now XD, and wait till that ost is out and pounce at it, cat pun intended.
    Thanks for a lovely review.
    ~Random Fan \(^^)/


    • Thank you for commenting – I am glad you liked the screencaps :)

      Yes, it was sad and the end left a void. We need more Sebastian!

      Indeed, Sebastian’s demon eyes are great :)

      The music is excellent! I saw that someone got an OST already through a special offer with a DVD or something like that, so I have to see if the OST is available already.


      • That’s great! I’ll be sure to share it if I manage to get it first. ^^
        Thank you for the response.


  27. I’ve watched and re-watched the ending to make sense of it. I do agree with many that it is a beautiful and peaceful ending but for some reason, I am just not happy with the ending, but that may just be me.

    I find it odd that Sebastien “feeds” on Ciel and then says “Then…Young Master”

    The only reason Sebastien would call Ciel his “young master” was because there was a contract. If the contract is over (which means that Ciel is dead), then why call Ciel “Young Master”. Wouldn’t it make more sense for Sebastien to call Ciel by his name?

    All we see is Sebastien’s face and his eyes turn that fiery, reddish pink. And all we hear is “Then…Young Master” after it. It’s like a story. You start with “Long Ago…”and it did with that world in London. “Then” seems to imply that there is more.

    Going through the entire anime series, I do not know whether or not to call Sebastien a true demon. He as so much humanity now because of Ciel. Not only did Ciel grow up but so did Sebastien in his own, abnormal way.

    Sorry about the rant. The ending did give me closure but not enough. While I want to believe that Ciel is dead (all of those who he loves are dead, and also, he has seen too much of the world…also,a shinigami said he was going to die), it just doesn’t seem right.

    For selfish reasons, Sebastien may have kept his “victim” alive. I mean, think about it, he once said that his master surprised him and he also said that the life of a soul-sucking demon was boring.

    There are so many loose ends. And the symbolism, it makes me believe that he wasn’t killed. I do not know. God, I am so unnerved.


    • It is not clear at what point Sebastian addresses Ciel, but I see your reasoning. The ending was left somewhat open-ended because we don’t see the final act, but it is likely that everything proceeded as planned.

      Yes, many people wanted to see more and were hoping for a sequel.

      It is still possible that Ciel is alive, but we’ll only find out what happened with another Kuroshitsuji anime. I am sure there will be one at some point because it is very popular and manga is still running.


  28. Now, I’ve been asking this and everyone gives me the same answer.
    What’s the song while Sebastian is about to take Ciel’s soul? (It’s NOT the ending theme.)

    _
    With that aside, it was an emotional ending. I agree with you and wish they had made it a little slower, but at least it was good. It made me cry, too.
    xD


    • Unfortunately, the OST is not out to my knowledge, so we don’t know about that song :(

      Indeed, the ending was very emotional. I heard that the second season is in production :D


  29. Hello! Sorry for interrupting but I have to said that there will be a second season and it is announced!!! I’m so happy ^^


    • Thank you very much for mentioning it :) I briefly looked over the comments and was very happy when I read this message from you :D If I have the time, I will definitely cover another season :)


  30. Hi! lol I feel like a stalker for coming back, but I just love your posts for this anime, and also did you hear the news of a second season for Kuroshitsuji?
    I was ecstatic to hear about it. =D
    I hope this means they will get on making that soundtrack :3

    http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/news/2009-06-14/kuroshitsuji-anime-second-season-green-lit

    It’s also in the official website under the CD section,I think they’re working on the soundtrack!
    sadly I can only read Hiragana and Katana, but it sounds like it to me.
    Black box:

    http://www.kuroshitsuji.tv/dvdcd/main.html#sound_comp

    Sorry to bother XD I just to tell someone lol
    =3 Have a good day!


    • haha Oh, don’t feel like a stalker – always feel free to express your opinions here :)

      Yes, thank you for mentioning about the second season – it is truly great news :)

      I’ve been waiting for the Kuroshitsuji OST for such a long time! I really want to hear that excellent music and learn the titles of the songs :)


  31. I can’t believe Its over, but it is isn’t it? watching kuroshitsuji from beginning to end I got so attached to the characters especially Ciel, he was so brave and strong, Instead of wallowing in self pity he set himself a goal and fought for it. I’m very relieved that Ciel was given a dignified end and I’m sure that wherever Ciel is now he is at peace


    • Indeed, Ciel has a very strong character, especially for his age :)

      I can’t believe Its over, but it is isn’t it?

      Well, the second season of Kuroshitsuji will continue the story :) No hand – no contract :P


  32. I would love to know what that song is that plays as Sebastian is about to take his soul


    • We’ll know the title at the end of the August when Kuroshitsuji OST is released, but you can listen to it now :)


      • omg ty


        • You are welcome :)


  33. What was the name of the song that was playing when Sebastian helped himself to Ciel’s soul?


    • Unfortunately, the name of the song is not known yet, but we’ll find out later this month when Kuroshitsuji OST is released :)


  34. One of the things that made me go ” AH!” in this ep was when Ciel let go of his hand on the bridge.I stood speachless in front of my comp for a while,then repeated it again. It really was a surprise.And a good one too.
    The ending,in my opinion,was such a failure.Sigh..Rushed,and,oh come on! No fan service at all,tsk!
    But I shed some tears,and that makes it a good ending. :D

    And thank you,Kitsune,for your hard work on the review and the pictures.As usual,keep up the good work :P

    And for the end,all I can say is : Good bye,Kuroshitsuji.It was fun while it lasted..

    P.S: Poor Lizzy..:(


    • Indeed, that scene on the bridge was very surprising! :)

      No fan service at all,tsk!

      hahaha XD

      Yes, the end was very emotional. They included a nice symbolic scene with Lizzy…

      You are welcome :) I am glad you enjoyed my posts :)

      Well, you can certainly say goodbye to Sebby if you want, but there will be a second season :P


  35. Ah! That was, ah!
    Does anyone know the name of the music playing when Sebastian’s about to take Ciel’s soul? Or if there’s a way I can get it?


    • Yes, many people wondered about that :) The title is “Si deus me relinquit” I covered this song in my Kuroshitsuji OST post :)


  36. Omg, I did not relise sebby took on the form of his dad… Gah, such a cute father. XD

    I wanted to jump for joy when I learned they were going to do a 2nd season.

    I love your page, it’s amazing.


    • haha Yes, great looking dad indeed :)

      I am glad you liked the news :)

      Thank you :)


  37. I’m pritty sure he does take Ciels soul because on the first ep intro song the very last thing it shows is ceil colapsed (forgive my spelling) on the stone bench on the island, and sabby walking around and turning him into a feather.


    • That is a sharp observation :) However, it might be just a part of the deception the writers threw at us :P


  38. oooookkkk did any of u know that there will be a second series. it will be introduced next year…hopefully but i’m sure as sugar that ciel is fine…because if he died and there was a second series, it would be boring if it was just sebastion and another master.

    is it just me or wouldn’t it be cute to see mei rin and sebastion together just once^^


    • Thank you for mentioning, but yes, we know :D

      Indeed, Kuroshitsuji without Ceil is not Kuroshitsuji :)

      haha Yes, it would be cute :) She always blushes so much thinking about Sebby lol Sniper and butler – lethal combination! :)


  39. They could do it from the point of veiw from a diffrent charictor… It does not nessesarily need to be what happens after Sebastion (Possably) takes ceil’s Soul. Although it would probuly be best if they did continued it from that point on.


    • I would like to see it from Angela’s point of view then :P


  40. i wanna see “sebastian’s” devil form!!!!!!!!! weee..and..T_T i wanna buy a key chain base on the seal of the eyes..T_T

    pls help me find one…T_T onegai


    • haha Many people want to see his devil form, but some prefer not to because it might be too scary ( yes, it will be a female form :P )

      That key chain sounds nice! I conducted a brief search, but, unfortunately, I have not found such a keychain :(


  41. Hi, I really enjoyed your post but is intrigued by the sudden ending and some comments/replies here.

    Did Sebastian really take Ciel’s soul? Since there’s a second season, I wonder if they’re going to follow the manga or make a new story…

    And what is the talk about Sebastian changing into the image Ciel’s dad when he changes to demonform… I don’t really get it, can you explain please? :)


    • Sry for double-posting, but what does Ciel means when he says “The targeted bird”? I get it connects with Sebastian’s birdform in the first-something epsiode, but not really why he says it/is there some other meaning to it? Thanks!


      • I don’t recall this moment now, but it must have something to do with the transfer of his soul.


    • Thank you :)

      It seems that Sebastian didn’t take Ciel’s soul at the time. I think there will be a sequel, continuing the plot of the anime. How closely it will follow manga is not cear.

      Sebastian looks like Ciel’s dad in his regular form in my opinion. He does that just to make his little master more comfortable :) His true form is quite different though and very scary!

      The rest of the comments are in this post on the second season :)


  42. i just watched the ova episode and what was the music playing when ciel was on-stage? it sounded fit for ciel.


    • He was on stage several times, so I am not sure to what exact moment you are referring to. My guess that the music was from the previous collection – you might find it among OST tracks.


  43. I think the only open ends for the second series (If it is indeed intended that most or some of the original characters be used) that something totally spacey and far fetched has to happen. (But hey, we’ve seen it) Like Pluto’s bones being gathered and his body restored, or something profound,and if Sebastian didn’t take ciel’s soul, i certainly hope something believable or mildly wowing is used as an excuse. I really don’t want to watch an anime without Sebastian. or one that follows the surviving characters.


    • I also would not follow the anime if C+S are not present probably.

      The explanation that people mentioned has to do with Seba-san’s hand :P


  44. I’m not sure if this has been brought upin any previous comments yet… but I reckon the contract might have become void or something because Sebastian’s arm was cut off, and on that arm…was the contract! lol.

    So… if that’s the case… Ciel shouldn’t have been able to have been eaten by (the pure awesome and sexy) Sebastian! XP

    I don’t actually care if there’s a stupid reason though for a season 2…so long as Sebastian and CIel are still in it as well as the otehr original characters(Meirin, Bard, Finny, Tanaka, Undertaker, Grell, William etc etc) BUT NO ASH/ANGELA!
    lol. They are weird and annoying!

    Which reminds me… Elizabeth (Lizzy) kinda pisses me off. haha. But she makes Ciel happy…so I guess she’s gotta stay -_-


    • Indeed, that is one of the hypotheses floating around :)

      Yes, we need both Sebastian and Ciel in the second season! :)

      ahaha I wouldn’t mind Angela, but without Ash :P


  45. also…has any one brought up the fact that the end scene is quite similar to how it starts off??

    I mean… Sebby takes Ciel on lake thingo…in a boat…past some waterfront thing with tonnes of flowers (where in like the human dimension realm thing Lizzy is) …and then they end up at some ruin.

    In episode 1, it starts off with it showing a lake… a boat in a boat house… a waterfront with flowers…and a ruin all just outside Ciel’s mansion.

    So… Sebastian brought Ciel home to take his soul… nice. haha. Whether or not he goes through with it (DON’T DO IT SEBBY!! We need more Sebastian AND Ciel) lol.


    • Yup, it is somewhat reminiscent of the OP sequence too.

      Oh, I am sure Seb will not do it :) Indeed, more S&C!


      • haha of course. It wouldn’t be Kuroshitsuji wothout Sebastian OR Ciel.

        I really am curious though as to when it comes out. January is almost over… so… it should be within a week if they stick to the original date :D


        • *without

          —jeebus, trying to type at 6-7AM when you haven’t gone to bed is hardwork. haha


          • Yes, I know the feeling! haha Sweet dreams! :)


        • I am thinking it will be sometime in Spring, but not sure :)


          • what months are spring?

            Sorry, I live in Australia so the seasons are pretty much the opposite.


            • In anime terms, April is the beginning of the spring season :)


  46. I loved this anime so much. Well, in the beginning it was sort of boring for me. But about 3 episodes inm I started loving it.

    The ending. Why did I cry? Haha. It was great but sad at the same time. I didn’t want to see Ciel die :[ And yeah..Sebastian’s boots were pretttyy cool lol. I would have wanted to see more towards the ending though. And I wanted the last line to be “Yes, My Lord.” Haha but that would have been too normal. But yeah, I wonder what Sebastian does for real and ahh I was so sad when it ended. It was great!

    The ending will always be a little shaky though. I love how Sebastian and Ciel talk as they’re going to Ciel’s last part. And I love how they kept the whole contract thing going. But okay my heart dropped after Sebastian killed Ash and smiled at Ciel and then Ciel just lets go. WHY?! :[

    Anyway. It was amazing.


    • Yes, it was a good anime with a sad ending.

      Sebastian goes in detail, explaining his profession in this video :P

      As you might know, there will be a second season, but it is likely that Sebastian and Ciel won’t be in it. Sebastian might show up in the first episode though.


  47. why did the boy die


  48. it was a great anime a fantastic anime till the boy died ,,,,why


    • Ciel made a contract and that was his payment. It is very sad… However, we still don’t know for sure that he died at the end. The beginning of the new series should reveal what happened.


  49. My dear friends. Reality bites. A devil’s pact is not nice. Ciel sold his soul that means he will go to a never ending torment. Even if he wants rest Ciel’s soul is in the place of inferno and never ending pain. To tell you the truth I’am sad bec. Ciel’s idealism is too much that he made a bad move by summoning Sebastian and made a compact……


    • Yes, this is a sad reality. Whenever we attempt something, we have to carefully assess consequences of our actions. Does the end goal justify the means?


      • Ciel chose to die this way. Fred Aberline did say to him that it was not to late to abandon his hate.


    • Well, he was being slowly tortured when he summoned Sebastian – so it wasn’t much of a choice.


      • When Fred Alderlain said it wasnt too late to abandon hate – I wonder if it meant that abandoning hate = canceling the demon’s contract?

        anyways, if he had canceled the contract and let all of london die and millions more in the rest of the world die (the war the angel wanted to start) i doubt his soul would’ve received a good judgement anyways…


  50. Gosh… i will cry now for a loooooooong time ;___;
    *sob* after i saw the OVA i was even sader than berfore- cause ciel doesn’t wanted to die and… oh gosh Q___Q
    why couldn’t sebastian eat a other soul? like this of this stupid angel? I don’t think he has to ask if he’s alowed to eat it! he’s just a cold deamon who isn’t able to feel anything! I bet he’s also frigid!!!!*cry*


    • Yes, Sebastian is a demon afterall… But we’ll have to wait for the next season to see what really happened, and you can still read manga if that will make you less depressed.


  51. ohhhhhhhhhhhh


  52. I just finished watching Kuroshitsuji. Im mortified by the ending because I have set out to think that Ciel did die, but at the same time I think he has not. Im sure after Sebastians final words to him they only meant this–>Pratically joking maybe? ( He fixed Ciel’s tie)
    Hahaha im just going to play with my imagination thinking of many possibilities. I always consider a great anime very great that I consider them my favorite. I call this a true masterpiece in storytelling, character build up, very emotional and motivating and above all excellent in setting and style. Im sure this series has made it to top off my top top favorite series. <3 It's just too much! No anime (maybe FMA) has made me feel so blank. I may exaggerate a little, but still!


    • It sounds like you really enjoyed this anime! :) Please consider watching the second season of Kuroshitsuji to see what really happened ;)


  53. sebastian is so strong…after all he fed on all those souls of the ppl he killed with the black plague he spread


  54. I want to alive black butler! I am very sorry for disappearing butler! I want to see happy ending . (He serve his master happily) . I really hope to watch second season of butler butler! I love sebastian very much. So I want to see him again!


    • Do watch the second season, and you may enjoy it :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

