h1

Best Anime OP ED: 1970s

May 25, 2011

Art by Agahari

Top Anime Opening Endings

A while ago, I wanted to create a list of my favorite anime openings and endings. It’s tempting to make just a top 10 list, but I decided not to do so for several reasons: 1) due to my poor memory, I may leave out some awesome songs out of my list 2) I would like to go through the decades of anime, one by one, recalling the good old days (yes, I am getting too old) 3) I am curious whether I’ll see any trends in anime openings or endings over time, or, perhaps, you’ll observe something interesting.

I’ll post my favorites as well as some songs for nostalgia purposes chronologically by a decade. The estimated total number of openings and endings that I am going to mention is expected to exceed 100 :)

I start with the 70s because I am not very familiar with anime of the 60s or earlier. Nevertheless, I do want to mention one cute 60s song from Akko-chan: Suki Suki! :)

Himitsu no Akko-chan (1969) ED
“Sukisuki Song” by Ado Mizumori

Mahō no Mako-chan (1970)
“Mahō no Mako-chan” by Mitsuko Horie

I like the range in this song. These days Mitsuko Horie is a part of judging panel at the Anison Grand Prix, along with Ichiro Mizuki.

Mazinger Z (1972) OP
“Mazinger Z” by Ichiro Mizuki

Ichiro Mizuki and Isao Sasaki virtually monopolized mecha shows of the time. Most such openings or endings, with rare exceptions, featured mass destruction and were quite predictable.

Cutey Honey (1973) OP
“キューティーハニー (Cutey Honey)” by Yoko Maekawa

This song was re-introduced many times later with numerous variations, but this is the original.

“Yogiri no Honey (夜霧のハニー; Honey of Night Fog)” by Yoko Maekawa

A rare stereo recording, with somewhat misleading first shot in the video :P

Majokko Megu-chan (1974) OP ED
OP “Majokko Megu-chan” by Yoko Maekawa
ED “Hitoribocchi no Megu” by Yoko Maekawa

That pink beast in the ED is so cute! <3

Star Blazers: The Quest for Iscandar (1974) OP
"宇宙戦艦ヤマト (Uchuu Senkan Yamato)" by Isao Sasaki

Such female singing in the background was somewhat popular at the time, but I never heard it used in anime like that.

UFO Robo Grendizer (1975) OP
"Tobe! Grendizer" by Isao Sasaki, Columbia Yurikago-kai and Koorogi '73

Note that children's choir often accompanied mecha songs, resulting in a somewhat unusual combination that worked surprisingly well.

Ikkyū-san (1975) ED

A touching message to mother :)

Next Page (1976-1979)


Pages: 1 2

28 comments

  1. I am observing something interesting… that just when I thought I had seen all the worthwhile anime openings in the world (I’ve seen hundreds and hundreds), this comes along and shows there’s *still* a larger anime world I haven’t explored yet.

    To be honest, I find the 1970s style strangely addicting. Not sure if it’s because some are just plain cute or because they’re so *different*. Well either ways– thanks for the post! :D


    • Paraphrasing the major, the anime world is vast and infinite ;)

      It is indeed addicting! It is cute, and I have some good memories. Also such music is one of the reasons I like Zetsubou Sensei so much :)

      You are welcome, I am glad you enjoyed the post :)


  2. Interesting!

    I had never paid much attention to anime before discovering your blog. But now I find myself quite interested in the artform. Thank you for the educational aspect of your post.


    • I am glad you are interested! :)

      Anime can vary quite substantially in terms of genres and art styles. I prefer, giving more personalized recommendations, based on what a person prefers, but I could give a few general ones:

      Spirited Away by Hayao Miyazaki. Academy Award winner for best animation, highest grossing film in Japanese history.
      Grave of the Fireflies by Isao Takahata. Roger Ebert considers it to be one of the most powerful anti-war movies ever made. Animation historian Ernest Rister compares the film to Steven Spielberg’s Schindler’s List and says, “it is the most profoundly human animated film I’ve ever seen.”
      Only Yesterday by Isao Takahata.

      I highly recommend using subtitles and listen to the original Japanese instead of English dub.


  3. Ahhhhh… though I have rarely seen the entirety or none of these anime, I really love Bara wa Utsukushiku Chiru, but Cutey Honey is also quite great… *sighs* I am not a shojo person though.

    Hmm although the anime I watched from the 70′s got to be this one.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGl991TRrUk Guess who the singer is. ^_^


    • Ah, yes, I recall that anime :) I want to say the signer is Ichiro Mizuki because he was so prevalent then, but actually it is Yuki Hide – I like his voice :)


      • I always think of it as Ichiro Mizuki actually… ^_^ Hmmm when you get to the 80′s music.. hmm.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUOegCG3v1A


        • But I actually am going to write a short post soon about Umi no Triton. ^_^


          • Oh, I look forward to your post :)


            • Once again in blogging limbo.. but I won’t abandon it. >_< I hope.

              I happen to like classic titles.

              Relistening to Candy Candy and Cutey Honey, they're sooo cute. ^_^



                • haha That’s great! Thanks for sharing :)


              • Take your time.

                I like classics too :)

                Yup, those are cute and addicting songs :)


        • Ah, thank you for reminding about this one :)


  4. [...] covering best anime themes of the 70s, let us look at the golden age of anime The time it took me to put together this post is measured [...]


  5. Hmm, I thought I posted my comment days ago and it must have been swallowed up cos it didn’t turn up. Re-posting again. (^_^)

    I have not watch any of the above 70s anime. Thanks for sharing.
    I like ‘Yogiri no Honey’ , the very spirited ‘Majokko Megu-chan OP’ and ‘Hitoribocchi no Megu’. They paired well with the visual sequence. Even more amusing is ‘Grandizer’s’ patriotic sounding themes. :lol:
    But I think overall, the theme song I like the most is ‘Ikkyu-san’. The visual isn’t much but the song is really cute & mellow sung in that whispering voice.


    • Sorry about that, something must have malfunctioned because I didn’t see your comment.

      ‘Yogiri no Honey’ is very nice, and I am glad I found a relatively good quality audio. Yes, “spirited” is a good word to describe those – I enjoyed them as well :)

      Indeed, ‘Ikkyu-san’ is very cute :)


  6. [...] is a third installment of Kitsune’s Thoughts special look back at the decades of anime music (70s, 80s). This time, Kitsune teamed up with Ayu to select anime themes of the 90s. The post is [...]


  7. Hi Everyone, I need help finding the name of a song that I recorded on a tape long time ago. It’s from an animated series around the time of Millennia Queen / Galaxy Express 999 (late 70s / early 80s). I can email a small portion via mp3 if anyone thinks that he/she might be able to help.

    I can only make out parts of the lyric. It starts with “Anata wa….tatsunaki…”

    Cheers.


    • To get a wider sample of potential helpers, you could upload it on youtube and ask if anyone knows what it is.


  8. Ok, thanks I’ll do that. Didn’t realise I can get help that way.


    • You could post a link to your upload here if you want, and I’ll try to identify the song, but I may not be able to determine what it is.


  9. I’ve uploaded to online storage instead as I don’t actually have a Youtube account.

    Do you mind downloading from link below and let me know what you think? Sorry it took me a while to get this done.

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0N1ZRUS2

    Cheers.


    • No problem.

      Unfortunately, I can’t download it now because it says: “The file you are trying to access is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later.”

      I’ll try again later.


  10. Sorry about the hassle. I’ve created a youtube account now, but will have to covert mp3 to avi/mpg first before I can upload the song. Will post link ASAP.


    • No problem. I hope we’ll figure out the song you have eventually :)


  11. I converted the mp3 to avi but Youtube doesn’t recognize the format for some reason.

    Would you mind if I email you the mp3 to you instead?

    Cheers



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

