What are your memories of love in high school? Let’s look how over 1000 Japanese participants answered this question.

Methods

Participants: goo Research online monitor group
Instrument: private internet-based questionnaire
Total sample: 1,064
Female: 55.9%
Teens: 10.3%
20s: 89.7%

Results

What are your memories of love in high school? (Sample size=469, Men)

Rank Score

1 Being unable to declare my love to the object of my affection 100
2 Walking back home together after school 94.2
3 Praying that I’d get to sit beside her in class 68.0
4 Watching her taking part in after-school club activities 49.5
5 Working part-time to be able to afford dates, presents 48.5
6 Having her be all “tsundere” (running hot and cold, sarcastic on top but loving underneath) 47.6
7 Going out together without telling our parents 43.7
8 Friends making fun of us when they found out we were going out 34.0
9 Friends lending me courage for me to declare my love 28.2
10 Being in the same club, committee 22.3

What are your memories of love in high school? (Sample size=595, Women)

Rank Score

1 Watching him taking part in after-school club activities 100
2 Walking back home together after school 94.4
3 Being unable to declare my love to the object of my affection 90.2
4 Praying that I’d get to sit beside him in class 76.9
5 Having him be all “tsundere” (running hot and cold, sarcastic on top but loving underneath) 60.8
6 Going out together without telling our parents 53.1
7 Friends lending me courage for me to declare my love 42.7
8 Friends making fun of us when they found out we were going out 30.1
9 Working part-time to be able to afford dates, presents 30.1
10 Being in the same club, committee 24.5

Source: What Japan Thinks

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time (時をかける少女, Toki o Kakeru Shōjo). Warning: This video might contain spoilers.

5 thoughts on “Memories of Japanese High School Love

Leave a Reply

