Results of another Japanese poll πŸ™‚

Q: What would you want to do once if you were female? (Sample size=516)

Rank Score
1 Get treated to a posh restaurant by a man 100
2 Have a baby 76.0
3 Get treated to a dating party 60.7
4 Wear a bra 59.3
5 Wear a skirt 55.3
6 Have my fill of full-body beauty treatment 54.7
7 Have long hair 53.3
8 Go for all the women-only special services 52.0
9 Wear make-up 51.3
10 Commute in the ladies-only carriage 40.0
11 Go to an all-you-can-eat dessert buffet 33.3
12= Declare my love on Valentine’s Day 32.0
12= Quit work on marriage 32.0
14 Wear high-heels 22.0
15 Wear stockings, tights 21.3
16 Go shopping with my mother/daughter 21.3
17 Fight over the bargains 20.0
18 Have foreigners drool over me 18.7
19 Get a manicure 16.7
20 Go to a boy band concert 11.3

Source: What Japan Thinks?

12 thoughts on “If I were a woman…

  1. With a title post like that, I thought at first you were addressing yourself there Kitsune for a moment X)
    Some of those results from the poll, actually surprise me quite a bit…
    Also, the Youtube link you added was very funny!

  2. I’m glad I read the rest of your entry, because the first impression I had after reading the title was something far, FAR, more sinister. I can’t believe that “having a baby” placed second in the poll.

    The vid is absolutely hilarious. Who provides the audio? Is it a comedian?

  3. Lostty,

    Yes, I set the title up in a foxy way πŸ˜›

    Some of the answers do sound surprising πŸ™‚ Visiting a nice restaurant and having long hair don’t sound like something too difficult for a man to achieve. Also it seems Japanese men have a thing for women’s clothes πŸ˜›

    Yup, that AMV was funny and very well lip-synced πŸ™‚

    – – –

    Sunggyu,

    Oh yes, I am very sinister πŸ˜›

    Having a baby sounds quite reasonable to me. If I were a woman, I would certainly want to have a baby – I think it is an wonderful experience, albeit somewhat uncomfortable at times, to grow a new life πŸ™‚

    The song is by Loudon Wainwright III

  4. Yup, men have peculiar desires πŸ™‚ I would like to see women’s version of the poll about what would they want if they were given a chance to become a man πŸ™‚

  5. Also I forgot to mention that Karen Horney would be pleased with the results of the poll that might confirm the existence of Womb Envy, an equivalent of Penis Envy coined by Freud.

    She claimed that men compensate for their relatively minor role in reproduction by creating artifacts and other external accomplishments through their work.

    Horney suggests that it is the unexpressed anxiety felt by some men over women’s ability to give birth, leading them to dominate women or driving them to succeed in order for their names to live on. Horney claims that men experience womb envy more powerfully than women experience penis envy because ‘men need to disparage women more than women need to disparage men.

    There is no proof for these concepts, and I disagree with them, but psychoanalysis is so much fun, isn’t it? πŸ˜›

  6. “β€˜men need to disparage women more than women need to disparage men.”

    Sakura thinks that statement is absolute BOLLOCKS!

    I think women disparage men just as much as they might disparage women.

    Hmm if I were a man I should be better at visual spatial tasks, so I’d play more shoot em up video games XD Seriously I can whup ass on Streetfigher like you wouldn’t believe (Hubby threw the controller in frustration the last time we played) But I SUCK at games like Goldeneye.

    Although, my scores on Link’s crossbow training are pretty decent.

  7. Yes, those statements were written in a particular time and context. As I said, I don’t agree with them.

    Shoot them up video games?! lol I love fighting games and tend to be quite good at them, but I never liked first-person shooters… My favorite genre of video games is Tactical RPG πŸ™‚

    My goodness, Sakura, you are really good at Streetfighter! πŸ™‚ I have not played Goldeneye, but I guess that involves some shooting πŸ˜› Well, you don’t want to get too much into those games, otherwise you’ll end up like that BOOM HEADSHOT guy πŸ˜›

    What Link crossbow training you speak of? I played relatively many Zelda games, but don’t recall such a training.

Leave a Reply

