Very scary and sad episode… Warning: this post will reveal the identity of the Jack the Ripper and has some other spoilers – view at your own risk!

Other Kuroshitsuji Episodes

This episode featured minimal amount of comedy and focused on some serious aspects, but some funny moments were still present. I was very surprised to see that Jack the Ripper is Madam Red’s butler! :O He is too scary… I’ll have difficulty sleeping now. His most important contribution though is the anti-Ranka sign πŸ˜› Madam Red’s story was very sad… 😦

While I got the gist from the visual presentation and my limited Japanese, I did miss some details: the motive of Madame Red. Fortunately, Impz wrote the summary of the episode and clarified the issue. This is a brief summary:

  • During the chess game, Ciel tells Madam Red that he is resolute to avenge the murder of his parents.
  • Gureru (Grell) = Madam Red’s Butler = Shinigami
  • Victims were patients who had an abortion in Madam Red’s clinic
  • Ciel is the son of Madam Red’s sister
  • Madam Red hated her her red-colored hair and loved Ciel’s father who married her sister
  • She married eventually, but her husband died in a tragic accident and the accident made her infertile
  • Her infertility gave rise the hatred toward prostitutes who were making the abortions
  • Grell noticed and joined Madam Red when she killed her first victim.
  • Can the devil (Sebastian) beat the god (Shinigami Grell)?
20 thoughts on “Kuroshitsuji – Episode 5

  1. Wonderful, absolutely amazing! I’ve already seen the ep 3 times since yesterday!
    I’m really falling in love with this anime *___*

    PS. I love your blog πŸ˜‰

  2. One thing kept going through my mind once Lau was revealed.

    OMG ITS KARIN FROM NARUTO!

    You see, you see the riff raff you hang out with Sasuke-kun?

    Sakura should just pledge her heart to Sebby, he’s full of win!

  3. CS,

    Looks like you really enjoyed episode 3 πŸ™‚ This anime is really good πŸ™‚

    Thank you πŸ™‚

    – – –

    Sakura,

    Oh, who is that Karin you speak of? I didn’t follow Naruto since the end of Zabuza arc.

    Sebby is full of win indeed πŸ™‚

  4. You’re welcome πŸ˜‰
    I meant I’ve seen this particular episode three times πŸ˜› even the one before (when Ciel cross-dressed XD if was hilarious :D)

    Hey wait a minute, Lau? Lau has nothing to do with Grell πŸ˜›

  5. Kanzeon,

    Yes, this episode was much darker compared to previous ones and Madam Red’s fate is very tragic indeed.

    – – –

    CS,

    haha Sorry about that – I should not make comments late at night πŸ˜› This episode was good and worth rewatching πŸ™‚

    Yes, I need some clarification who is Lau.

    – – –

    P.S. I added a summary of the episode that might clarify some issues.

  6. Correction I meant Grell (I’ve not had a lot of sleep this week 😦 )

    Kitsune, Karin is a team mate of Sasuke’s from sound, one of Orochimaru’s lackeys.

    Since Sasuke defected from Konoha and left to go train under the slimey snake so that he can kill Itachi.

    Not since Zabuza eh? You’ve missed an awful lot of story! XD

  7. Yes, we both need to catch up on sleep 😦

    Well, after Zabuza they were running in the forest for such a long time… Too bad Sasuke joined that evil snake person. I hope Sakura will bring him back to his senses πŸ˜›

  8. Yes, I do so love my sleep but I get so little of it! 😦 Its a good job I sleep so deeply when I do catch some z’s.

    Yes hopefully Sasuke-kun will come to his senses at some point.

    I don’t think he actually fully intends to completely destroy Konoha, letting the hachibi escape is proof enough of that.

    But I do think he wants Danzou and the council members involved in the Clan’s murder and Itachi’s tarnished name to pay at least.

  9. Sebastian for sure. Sasuke is a little bitch.

    I liked this episode, but I felt that they rushed through Madam Red’s backstory just a little.

  10. Oi, don’t even try to compare Sasuke to Sebastian, how dare you xDD

    I will miss madam Red, she is such a good character.. and very good looking too.

  11. one question…..on the bit were grell is ranting about his scythe, what is the name of that music in the background? that light-hearted french-ish sounding one…..i can’t seem to find it

Leave a Reply

