Wouldn’t it be great if you could launch your favorite programs, websites, and paste common phrases just by waving a magical wand? Unfortunately, some witches and wizards have restrictions on magic use, so we’ll have to rely on some alternative methods.

Some people really like their keyboard, but I am a mouse person πŸ˜› StrokeIt is a free mouse-gesture recognition program that can significantly ease some tasks and is one of my favorite programs I downloaded in years πŸ™‚ Since I downloaded this program, I don’t have any icons on my desktop at all and can work much more quickly and efficiently. Here are some of the things you can do:

  • Launch programs
  • Open URLs
  • Open Folders
  • Enter Predefined Text
  • Close Windows/Tabs

What is StrokeIt?

StrokeIt is an advanced mouse gesture recognition engine and command processor. What is a mouse gesture? Mouse gestures are simple symbols that you “draw” on your screen using your mouse. When you perform a mouse gesture that StrokeIt can recognize, it will perform the “action” associated with that gesture. In short, it’s a nifty little program that lets you easily control programs by drawing symbols with your mouse.

What can it do?

StrokeIt can currently recognize more than 80 unique mouse gestures and can be easily trained to recognize many more. For each gesture recognized, StrokeIt can execute a user-defined set of commands within the active application. StrokeIt commands are defined within plugin libraries that can be easily created by third parties to do nearly anything.

How do I perform a gesture?

Click and hold down the right mouse button and then draw the mouse gesture you want performed. You can temporarily disable StrokeIt by holding down the Control key, or right clicking on the StrokeIt icon in the system tray. If you want to cancel a mouse gesture while drawing it, simply left click.

Here is a tutorial on some functionality (The guy has a perverted wallpaper >.<)

Related Software

Launchy
Executor
AutoHotKey
FireGesture (Firefox)
Mouseless Browsing (Firefox)

Related Articles

How to Search Multiple Websites With a Single Keystroke

7 thoughts on “Stroke It to Improve Your Life

  1. So lazy! :p
    I’m more used to my keyboard, but I’ve found a good balance of using both that doesn’t ever make me feel like I’m using too much effort to do the things I normally do~

  2. Whoa… this is pretty nuts. I haven’t used windows in so long, but I think there is something similar in Gnome. Also, I totally want to hook up LIRC to do things like this.

Leave a Reply

