I reported about the new anime version of the Tale of Genji. Recently, some interesting details were unveiled.

While the project originally began as an adaptation of manga, director Osamu Dezaki decided to make an anime interpretation of the famous original novel itself. (ANN)

The news makes this anime even more interesting to watch for me and raises my enthusiasm about covering this work 🙂

Further reading with details about the staff involved in the project:

Asakiyumemishi – Tale of Genji Anime

7 thoughts on “Tale of Genji Anime: Genji Monogatari Sen-nen-ki Genji

  1. I own an English translation of the Tale of Genji, but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I admit that the length of the work is a little intimidating – and this, from an avid bibliophile who actually enjoys reading epic thousand-page novels.

    Once my resignation takes effect, I’ll have plenty of time to get started. Or I can just skip the book and jump straight into the anime. 😉

  2. Oh, who is the author of your translation?

    Indeed, over 1000 pages can look intimidating, but it is doable. By reading a little everyday you can finish it in a few months 🙂

    I hope your transition will go well 🙂

  3. Same thoughts as you and Wabisabi (Iwa ni Hana)… adapting the anime from the original novel makes for a much more faithful adaptation. All the more looking forward to this now!! ^-^

  4. Thanks for the update on Genji! Oh my. Good adaptaions of epic novels don’t come easy. Now that gets my hopes and expectations jumping up a few notches 🙂

    1. Indeed, it is not easy to animate epic novels, but the staff are very experienced and might make a decent anime. I have some expectations too, but it is best to remain cautiously optimistic 🙂

Leave a Reply

