Results of the global survey of 115,000 people in 33 countries.

Japan is home to the highest rates of employees suffering from work-related health problems, according to a new global survey, followed closely by Canada.

As many as 3/5 Japanese workers complain that they have become ill or unhealthy as a result of workplace grievances.

Overworking has emerged as an acute problem in modern day Japan, which even has a word – karoshi – for death from overworking. Japan also has a high rate of work-related fatalities.

Japan and Canada: lowest minimum annual holiday leave – only ten days a year – which is significantly lower than most other countries

Healthiest places: New Zealand, India and Australia

Internationally, more than 1/3rd said they were made to feel guilty about taking time off.

Employers can play a pivotal role in improving the health and fitness of their workers by introducing incentives and programs to keep staff encouraged, motivated and productive,” the survey said.

Read full article: Japan is least healthy place in the world to work (Telegraph) via Japundit

11 thoughts on “Japan is the Worst Place to Work

  1. I believe the worst part of it is that Japanese companies frown upon taking days off when you are sick. You are expected to show up to work miserable and wearing a mask (so that you won’t get others sick, except for all of the times you have to take it off to eat and the like). I missed two days last month due to illness and they were considered unpaid leave. But I can tell you that I sure wouldn’t want to be a salaryman anywhere – even Japan.

    Of course, Japan and Canada do have high quality medical facilities and socialized health care/insurance.

  2. During the brief time I worked in a traditional mega-corporation in Japan, I learned that not only did people not take sick leave when they were ill, but that they were told to log “holiday time” into their computers even when they didn’t go on holidays, so that HR wouldn’t complain. So employees who were “on record” as taking days off had actually worked throughout..

  3. Ōkami-Sensei,

    People who are sick should take their time and rest. It is too bad that Japan has such practices.

    – – –

    Animekritik,

    Oh, that sounds horrible! 😦 No wonder you left…

  4. Its horrible that people are made to feel like they have to do that.

    Hubby says my work ethic is terrible in that I work too hard.

    I actually went into work with a temperature of 103 because if I hadn’t of gone in there would have been no supervisors and the animal care staff were either off or had called off.

    My boss called me an idiot when he found out, but he was the one who had told me the animal care came before all else and had to be done.

    When I asked who would have done it if I had not come in he was at a loss.

    Thankfully everyone was back the next day and I stayed home for a few days after that.

    Not that I had much choice, hubby said if I had tried to go into work, he’d have just left for work without me 😄

    1. Indeed, people should not be made to do that.

      Omg… You should not work this way! Your health is very important. What if you got complications due to working that day? Please be careful in the future.

  5. 🙂 I’ll try. I also tore my shoulder due to work.

    It was a situation where I needed help, no-one was around and I had been made to feel that what I was doing had to be done and couldn’t wait.

    A minor tear was misdiagnosed for over 6 months as mere tendonitus because they wouldn’t do a diagnostic test like an x-ray or mri.

    Meanwhile the tear kept getting bigger and bigger.

    They sent me to a surgeon finally to get a cortisone shot.

    Which thankfully he refused to do until an x-ray and an MRI, something which the doctors back at U of M were annoyed of because of cost and because in their opinion for the kind of injury those tests weren’t necessary.

    Although you’d think the fact that 6 months of worsening pain and strength loss in the arm would clue them in that they needed to re-examine their diagnosis.

    Long story short I ended up needing surgery.

    The MRI had shown a small tear and it should have been a simple fix.

    However the tear had folded in on itself and was actually much bigger.

    So they had to sever one of the branches of my left bicep tendon.

    Instead of being out 4 weeks, I was out for 8 while I had more intensive physical therapy to teach my arm how to work without that extra branch.

    I basically had to re-learn how to even lift my arm, without therapy I couldn’t even lift it an inch.

    It probably took a year for a complete heal and even now (2 years later) if I over-do it and lift something heavy that shoulder does not let me forget it!

  6. Tore your shoulder! That is horrible! 😦

    See, you had been made to feel that what you were doing had to be done and couldn’t wait, but it could have waited. Never allow people to treat you like that.

    It is irresponsible of physicians to dismiss the case like this. They should have conducted necessary tests to confirm their impressions.

    They severed one of the branches of you bicep tendon… I hope you were anesthetized well, and it didn’t hurt much after surgery.

    Being out for eight weeks and re-learning to move your arm must have been a frustrating experience 😦

    Please don’t strain yourself and be careful with your shoulder! Take the time when you need rest and don’t let work exceed your health in priority. 🙂

  7. I’ve been a lot more firm about what I can do lately.

    And ever since I got back after my surgery I’ve definitely been firmer in regards to my shoulder.

    A lot of the time they won’t let me do anything too heavy duty now anyway, since they don’t want to lose me for 8 weeks again 😄

    The surgeon who did the MRI was the one who did the surgery and it wasn’t done at UofM where I work but the hospital he worked out of.

    He was fantastic, the head anesthetist gave me the anesthetic since I had to have a general and not a local once they realized they had a little bit more work to do than they had first thought.

    So as well as being knocked out they gave me a block rather than a morphine pump.
    I couldn’t even wiggle my fingers right after the surgery, that entire arm was numbed.

    I got some feeling back about midnight.
    Everyone all day had been saying move your fingers and I would laugh and say I’ve been trying for the last 10 minutes, they just aren’t working!

    Mom’s had morphine pumps and still been in a lot of pain, so the block was really nice.

    Afterwards I was supposed to take Vicodin’s for pain management but I didn’t bother, I seem to be immune to the effects of that drug and it didn’t give me any noticeable pain management.

    The surgeon I saw gave me a heavy duty ice wrap with pockets to make sure my entire shoulder would get iced and the packs were good for a couple of hours.

    So we just made sure for the first couple of days my arm was pretty much iced all the time and that helped with the swelling a lot.

    Probably did me better than any pain meds would have.

    I had a to make a deal with hubby, if I wore the wrap I didn’t have to wear my sling, since the wrap actually provided a form of support in the way it wrapped around the shoulder and my body.

    He made me wear the sling the first two days and the pain in my elbow made me cry, it actually hurt me worse than the shoulder it ached so much.

    Oh it was very frustrating, until I got to therapy I couldn’t even raise my arm more than a few inches.

    I got yelled at the second day because I took a shower without hubby helping me.
    I just couldn’t wait for him to get up and I didn’t want to wake him.

    So I used my good arm to lift my bad arm and I braced it on the window to keep it up so I could clean.

    Getting dressed took forever,.

    1. A lot of the time they won’t let me do anything too heavy duty now anyway, since they don’t want to lose me for 8 weeks again 😄

      Heh, so they care more about loosing an excellent worker for some time than your health…

      It sounds like you were anesthetized well and took good care of yourself following the surgery 🙂

      Yelling is not conductive to problem solving 😛

      Not being able to function as you used to can be quite uncomfortable. I also had a surgery that made simple daily tasks challenging.

      I am glad it is all over for you now and you feel better 🙂

  8. I live in Canada and ironically I always thought I’d love to work in Canada or in Japan (probably just because of my otaku-ness). But India being one of the healthiest place to work in?… I always thought they had huge pollution problems.

Leave a Reply

