The year 2008 is almost over – it is time to pause and reflect. I would like to mention some of the anime that I enjoyed the most this year, but keep in mind that this list is highly subjective 😉 The focus of this first post in the series is music. I will cover 14 categories 🙂

When it comes to music in anime 2008, you have Macross Frontier, and then you have everything else, but let’s looks at each category. I’ll list my favorites with links to videos and will embed those that I liked the most.

Best OP Song

Soul Eater – “Resonance” by T.M.Revolution

To Love Ru – “Forever We Can Make It!” by THYME

Xam’d: Lost Memories – “Shut Up and Explode” by Boom Boom Satellites

Macross Frontier – “Lion” by May’n and Megumi Nakajima

Rosario to Vampire 2 – “DISCOTHEQUE” by Nana Mizuki

“Resonance” and “Forever We Can Make It!” are nice upbeat songs. “Shut Up and Explode” is very dangerous because it can stuck in your head 😛 “Lion” is one of my favorite songs from Macross Frontier. I really liked “Discotheque”, but the opening song that fit content of the series best was from Tytania in my opinion.

Tytania – “Ano Sora wo, Ike” by Ken Nishikiori

Best OP Art

Antique Bakery

Yozakura Quartet

Clannad ~ After Story

Zoku Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei

Antique Bakery featured an interesting opening with rotating camera over realistic looking settings filled with cut-out characters. I liked use of color in Yozakura Quartet opening, and Clannad just looks all shiny 😛 I really liked Zetsubou Sensei opening for the creative presentation, but Ef looks the best with wonderful animation set in mostly black and white colors with numerous transformations and sketches.

Ef: A Tale of Melodies

Most Bizarre OP

The creators must have been high making this…

Kemeko Deluxe!

Cutest OP

Zoku Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei

Best OP

Kannagi – “Motto☆Hade ni ne! (motto☆派手にね!)” by Haruka Tomatsu

Wagaya no Oinari-sama – “KI-ZU-NA ~Haruka Naru Mono e 「KI-ZU-NA 〜遥かなる者へ」” by Hitomi Sora

Skip Beat! – “Dream Star” by the Generous

Toradora – “Pre-Parade (プレパレード)” by Rie Kugimiya, Eri Kitamura, and Yui Horie

Kannagi opening speaks for itself 😛 Presence of a fox definitely improves the overall quality of Wagaya no Oinari-sama opening 😛 and character spam was nice, but I liked the last part the most with the foxy running 🙂 Skip Beat has an interesting sequence: Kyoko chases her dreams as she tries to catch a blue bird 🙂 Toradora has a nice song with shots of the characters that present their personality well. While I can’t say that the song is great, Kaiba opening depicted one of main themes in this anime very well. As people change their bodies, their essences remains the same and they hold hands 🙂

Kaiba – “Never” by Seira

Best ED Song

I have not seen many endings that impressed me. I like the retro style Sunred song, but Maaya Sakamoto is much better 🙂

Kurogane no Linebarrels – “Ame ga Furu” by Maaya Sakamoto

Best ED Art

Again, not many endings impressed me, but Tytania ending featured a variety of beautiful scenery and creative character presentation 🙂

Tytania

Most Bizarre ED

Kitties…

Kyouran Kazoku Nikki

Cutest ED

You can’t resist a dancing chibi kitsune 😛

Wagaya no Oinari-sama

Best ED

Xam’d ending featured shots with interesting perspective and some nice flying scenes, but I didn’t like the song.

Xam’d: Lost Memories

My favorite ending was “Romance Romanesque” because I love the song, and the scenes conveyed a sense of loneliness and melancholy quite well, fitting to the series. Also it contained one surprising moment lol

Zoku Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei – “Romance Romanesque” Asuka Tanii, Asami Sanada, Miyuki Sawashiro, Yuko Goto and Miyu Matsuki

I would like to mention a wonderful sequence that is not a stand alone ending, but rather an end of an episode.

Macross Frontier – Episode 10: Aimo ~ Tori no Hito (アイモ~鳥のひと, Aimo ~Bird Human) Music: Yoko Kanno, Singer: Megumi Nakajima

Best Background Melody

While this composition might not sound that impressive as a stand alone piece, it was used very effectively in Kaiba to communicate the atmosphere.

Kaiba – “Memories” by Kiyoshi Yoshida

Best Song of the Year 2008

My favorite song in anime this years is Diamond Crevasse not only because the changes in intensity along with well-timed pauses in May’n’s passionate performance are great, but because the anime associated many emotions with this song as well…

“Diamond Crevasse (ダイアモンド クレバス)” by Sheryl Nome starring May’n

Best Performance

Sheryl Nome (May’n) “Don’t Be Late” and “Northern Cross” in Episodes 24 and 25

“There are no more nagging thoughts. All that’s left is to go out in a blaze of glory. Now there is only music and me. Listen to my song!”

“Northern Cross” from Episode 25

Best Music

Xam’d: Lost MemoriesMichiru Oshima (Fullmetal Alchemist, Gokusen, Magic User’s Club)
Kaiba Kiyoshi Yoshida (Kurozuka, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time)
Kuroshitsuji Taku Iwasaki (Gurren Lagann, Now and Then, Here and There, ROD TV, Ruroni Kenshin OVA, Soul Eater)
Macross FrontierYoko Kanno (Macross, Escaflowne, Cowboy Bebop, Ghost in the Shell, Wolf Rain)

I enjoyed music in Xam’d, but music in Kaiba was especially appropriate for that anime. It is hard to beat Yoko Kanno, but Taku Iwasaki came very close. You can find a wide veriety of plasant music in Kuroshitsuji: Gregorian chants, opera, waltz, jazz, and others. I loved Yoko Kanno‘s music in Cowboy Bebop and Macross Plus and now she produced another great collection for Macross Frontier. Aimo was especially memorable, but not as good as Voices though. I like this version of Aimo the most because Maaya Sakamoto sings the beginning of the song 🙂

Related Posts:

Best Anime 2008: Seiyū

Best Anime 2008: Characters

Best Anime 2008: Shows

Choices of Other Bloggers for Top Anime 2008:

What were your favorites in music this year?

24 thoughts on “Best Anime 2008: Music

  1. Curse Toradora and that OP, it so insidious the way you catch yourself singing to it.

    YAY for T.M Revolution, he has a number of songs for animes that I love.

    I totally adored abingdon boys schools Howling for Darker Than Black 🙂

    [***Macross Frontier SPOILERS***]

    Macross Frontier was a total win for music. Diamond Crevasse makes me think of my beloved Michel-kun… SOB.

    The tribute to him on the 2nd album is just beautiful :sniff:

    Oh Michel-kun you were taken too soon (all out bawls)

  2. Nice list ^_^. Macross Frontier, hands down, gets my vote for the best OP and ED this year. Add along the best overall soundtrack ^_^.

    Other favorites of mine includes OP for Kannagi, Spice and Wolf, Xam’d Lost Memories, Kaiba and CLANNAD After Story :). For my other favorite EDs, I’ll go for ToraDora, Kuroshitsuji and Vampire Knight ^_^.

    1. Sakura,

      Toradora OP was quite nice 🙂

      I have not seen Darker Than Black, but I found the intro on youtube and it sounded fun and similar to Soul Eater opening.

      ***Macross Frontier Spoilers***

      Yes, it is very sad… This is one of my favorite tracks of the Macross Frontier OSTs.

      – – –

      Kanzeon,

      Oh, what is your favorite Macross OP and ED? There were so many…

      Well, it looks like we liked similar anime openings 🙂

  3. WOW, Props for Kaiba! I’m glad someone else thinks Kaiba has some of the sexiest anime music in a LONG time.

    Also i’m glad i’m not the only one who thought the To-love-ru opening was catchy as hell. I felt alone for a second there.

  4. @Kitsune: I love Lion for the OP and Aimo, Diamond Crevasse, Neko Nikki, Northern Cross and Ai Oboete Imasu ka for the ED ^_^ Well, I basically like all of them ^_^

  5. Nice list! I got to listen to other themes that slipped me.ZSZS GoGo OP is adorable. I loved Nozomu’s mask from Darker than Black! ^_^

    A few from my list: Toshokan Sensou’s ED is my favorite this year. Toradora’s OP and ED are pretty catchy, though I prefer the ED. THYME rocks. I love Tokyo et Paris. Yozakura Quartet has really good BGM and insert songs.

  6. Ha, totally forgot about this post. Silly me. Anyway, I prefer the original version. I think the woman’s voice is absolutely gorgeous and captures that ‘lonely tree’ spirit better than other versions.

Leave a Reply

