Kōhaku Uta Gassen (紅白歌合戦, Kōhaku Uta Gassen), more commonly known as simply Kōhaku, is an annual music show on the New Year’s Eve. Literally “Red and White Song Battle,” the program divides the most popular music artists of the year into competing teams of red and white. The “red” team or akagumi (赤組, 紅組, akagumi?) is composed of all female artists (or groups with female vocals), while the “white” team or shirogumi (白組, shirogumi?) is all male (or groups with male vocals).

Kiyoshi Hikawa

Jero

Joe Hisaishi

Further Reading: Anime/Manga Songs on New Year’s Kōhaku Uta Gassen (ANN)

4 thoughts on “Kōhaku Uta Gassen 2008

  1. I was watching some parts of Kohaku at one of my local Japanese markets… and am waiting to watch for the rest of the shows, other than on Youtube that is. Still what is your favorite part?

    My opinion is that there’s lots of that one song that the singer is known for as well as a lot of confetti being released for nearly every act and I was like huh…?

  2. I have not watched the show in its entirety, but seen some excerpts on YouTube. Only select few are invited to this show, so, at least hypothetically, it should be good.

    Of the songs that I heard, not many impressed me. I posted some Enka songs because I like it (more details). Also I like Joe Hisaishi music 🙂 His Ghibli music concert was great 🙂

    There might have been other good performances that I missed because I only seen a part of the show.

  3. Yep Studio Ghibli part are always wished they focus more on the background other than on the singers.. watching that part in the market inspired me to be definite on getting Ghibli no Uta yesterday… and with Jero’s performance, that was emotional… some parts that I watched with comedians were funny, with their trademark. So hopefully Youtube or any other source will have it up soon or not.

    1. haha Yes, the backgrounds looked much better 🙂

      Ghibli no Uta is a nice music collection with some of my favorites recordings 🙂

      Indeed, Jero’s performance was very emotional. His grandma dreamed of him singing Enka. and she must be very proud that he achieved such a success. His knowledge of Enka is quite extensive, and he is a good singer 🙂

Leave a Reply

