Academy Award Winners 2009

Slumdog Millionaire

  1. Best Picture
  2. Director (Danny Boyle)
  3. Adapted Screenplay (Simon Beaufoy)
  4. Cinematography (Anthony Dod Mantle)
  5. Editing (Chris Dickens)
  6. Original Score (A.R. Rahman)
  7. Original Song (“Jai Ho”, music by A.R. Rahman, lyrics by Gulzar)
  8. Sound Mixing (Ian Tapp, Richard Pryke and Resul Pookutty)

The film also won the Golden Globes, Writers Guild, Directors Guild and the British Academy of Film and Television Arts awards.

“Most of all we had passion and we had belief, and our film shows if you have those two things, you have everything,” said producer Christian Colson, surrounded by members of the film’s huge cast and crew.


Milk

Sean Penn won best actor for playing Harvey Milk. Dustin Lance Black won original screenplay: the story of the first openly gay man elected to major public office.

“For those who saw the signs of hatred as our cars drove in tonight, I think it’s a good time for those who voted for the ban against gay marriage to sit and reflect on their great shame and their shame in their grandchildren’s eyes if they continue that support,” Penn said. “We’ve got to have equal rights for everyone.”


The Dark Knight

Heath Ledger won best supporting actor for his performance as the Joker in “The Dark Knight.” His parents and sister accepted the award for the actor, who died in January 2008.


Japanese filmmakers won two important awards πŸ™‚

Best Foreign Language Film: “Departures” (directed by Yojiro Takita)

Animated Short:La Maison en Petits Cubes” (directed by Kunio Katō)


Sources:

‘Slumdog’ makes history, sweeps Oscars (CNN)

Full List of Nominees and Winners (CNN)

19 thoughts on “Oscars 2009 Winners

  1. I saw Slumdog yesterday, just hours before the Academy Awards. While I enjoyed the movie, even if its heavily percussive soundtrack left me slightly deaf, I did not think it deserved all those Oscars. The one award it richly deserved was for Best Editing. Without the highly inventive cutting, the film would have been terribly predictable. Considering the beautiful scores it was up against, it is a miracle that Slumdog won Best Original Score. That said, the Academy seems to be biased toward anything with an international flavor. This was evident a few years ago when the incredibly boring martial arts film “Crouching Tiger, Flying Dragon” won so much recognition. And how could Sean Penn’s impression of a gay man have won over Mickey Rourke’s powerful performance? Again, the bias of the Academy has always been evident when it comes to any film about gays. Brokeback Mountain was a terrible film (not taking anything away from the quality of the acting), yet it won over some other remarkable movies. Slumdog Millionaire’s “sweep” fits that pattern very nicely.

    1. I definitely have to see Slumbog because it sounds like the editing was very good.

      I have not seen The Wrestler, Milk, and have not heard the scores, so can’t compare. It seems you don’t like Ang Lee’s films.

      Yes, the Academy Awards, as many other things in life, are not based solely on merit.

    2. I really think Frost/Nixon should won. Slumdog Millionaire took the place of Changeling, a movie that should had be nominated. I think Sean Penn deserved the Oscar. For me it was a tough decition because Mikey Rourke, and Brad Pitt did a great job too. I don’t think Sean Penn won because he made a gay role… a lot of people made gay roles, and not everybody wins. He was convincent as a gay man, and when you saw him acting you never thought of him as a Sean Penn a guy that in real life look very straight.

      Anyway I’m really glad Heath Ledger won the oscar, he made an excelent performance. Is a shame what happened to him.

      1. I saw some excerpts from Changeling and was told about the whole story. Unfortunately, this is one of the films that I am not going to watch, but I heard it is good.

        Yes, some actors have a wide variety of roles, while other play themselves or only one type.

        Indeed, Ledger’s performance was good.

  2. I haven’t seen Slumdogs yet, but I imagine it is very similar to other Bollywood movies that I have seen. I did see the part where Ledger won the Oscar, which was pretty sad, but well deserved..

  3. I also don’t agree on several awards like the Best Picture but the Cinematography itself is good. But then, that two doesn’t necessarily come in one T_T.

    Regarding the issue/ controversy about the Slumdog, I really am confuse as well if the Indians should be happy that their country has been featured or they should be mad since their country was shown to be like that.

    1. What do you think best picture should go to?

      Hmm… That’s an interesting question, but I don’t know how the country was depicted. I’ll ask my Indian co-workers what they think about it πŸ™‚

  4. My only real disappoint over the oscars was losing the whole “guess the winners from the nominations” game against my sisters… Third year in a row that I lost, but besides that it was a pretty entertaining time and made me realize that there is a lot of films of 2008 that I still want to see!

    1. Well, losing is ok – she is much more interested in movies and may know the odds better. Would she be able to guess anime awards? πŸ˜› Besides, sometimes a better prediction is not the one that identifies the best nominee, but the one that reflects the mood of the Academy.

      Yes, I also have to see many films.

  5. Slumdog Millionaire is a great movie. I find it particularly insightful, but I’m not sure just how much is too much. I’m quite surprised at the lack of controversy surrounding this film, except for the fact that the young child actors aren’t paid enough. Perhaps this movie is simply a statement of fact? I think that Danny Boyle deserves Best Director as he definitely brings the grittiness of India to film in an artistic and believable manner. But personally I feel that Best Picture ought to go to Benjamin Button as the movie really took me on a breathtaking adventure through life (backwards!) as well as with a heartwarming story and lesson to be learned at the end, which I thought that today’s movies lack.

  6. Yes to ‘Okuribito’ on landing the Best Foreign Film Awards. The late Mr. Ledger deserved his post-humous award. I have not seen Slumdog but A.R Rahman doing the score makes me want to have a listen at the soundtrack πŸ™‚ And I’m glad WALL-E won best animated film over BOLT…muahaha. I dislike BOLT, just wondered how on earth did it get nominated in the first place…really, it’s boring and the animation is so-so. πŸ˜›

    1. Okuribito will be the first film that I am going to watch of all nominees and winners πŸ™‚

      Oh, it sounds like you enjoy A.R Rahman’s music πŸ™‚

      I have not seen WALL-E or BOLT, but I really want to see La Maison en Petits Cubes πŸ™‚

    1. I talked to my Indian co-workers about this film. They said it was ok, but didn’t deserve all eight Oscars, especially the best picture. Also they mentioned that the first part of the film may be disturbing, but does have some basis in reality.

Leave a Reply

