h1

Japanese Music Idols: Candies (1970s)

March 15, 2009

Candies (キャンディーズ) was a famous Japanese idol group of the 1970s. Candies was composed of three girls: Ran Ito(伊藤蘭)called Ran, Yoshiko Tanaka(田中好子)called Sue and Miki Fujimura(藤村美樹)called Miki. Candies was formed in 1973, and starting with the song “あなたに夢中” (Anata Ni Muchu. Crazy For You in English). They had overwhelming popularity with Japanese young people because of good harmonies.

They had 8 top 10 songs, 年下の男の子 (Toshishita No Otokonoko), 春一番 (Haruichiban), 夏が来た! (Natsu Ga Kita!), やさしい悪魔 (Yasashii Akuma), 暑中お見舞い申し上げます (Syochūomimaimoushiagemasu), アン・ドゥ・トロワ (An, Du, Trowa), わな (Wana), and 微笑がえし (Hohoemigaeshi). Candies was a representative idol group of Japan in the 1970s along with Pink Lady.

In 1977, at the height of their popularity, they dropped out of the music business with a famous phrase “普通の女の子に戻りたい”.(We want to return to [being] ordinary girls.) Their breakup concert was held in Korakuen Stadium on April 4, 1978.The breakup of this idol group was regretted by many people.

A few years after leaving the industry, Ran and Sue came back as actresses. Miki returned to singing, but quit shortly after getting married. (Wiki)

あなたに夢中” (Anata Ni Muchu)

春一番 (Haruichiban)

年下の男の子 (Toshishita No Otokonoko)

夏が来た! (Natsu Ga Kita!)

やさしい悪魔 (Yasashii Akuma)

暑中お見舞い申し上げます (Syochūomimaimoushiagemasu)

アン・ドゥ・トロワ (An, Du, Trowa)

わな (Wana)

微笑がえし (Hohoemigaeshi)

Candies vs Pink Lady

Related Posts:

Pepper Keibu: Pink Lady and Morning Musume
Other Japanese Music

17 comments

  1. It’s interesting to see how they changed over time.

    …Their hairstyles from the 1970s are killing me though -__-.


    • Yes, it is interesting to see how time changed them. Here is how Yoshiko Tanaka looks now.

      haha Yes, the hair style was different then🙂


  2. This style of music screams “70s!”.

    But though I’m 19, I’ve grown up hearing 70s/80s through my parents, so it doesn’t bother me in the least. And I have to admit… I strangely find this group very pleasant to the ear. They harmonize very well, and… it’s just good listening.😛

    Thanks for the post. I love learning new interesting facts about the Japanese culture, even a bit of music history. And though my acceptance of the Bee Gees and Candies might get me disowned by certain heavy-metal friends xD, it’s good to know there’s others out there that can love the classics and the new too.


    • I am glad you liked it🙂

      I love this type of music🙂 That’s why Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei gets extra points from me😉 I also posted some anime openings and endings with similar music🙂


  3. […] Japanese Music Idols: Candies (1970s) […]


  4. ok, enviando,o passado em nosso passado


  5. wery wery nic. ifrom iran ican not spiack japan so english yhis web site is wery wery good


  6. I don’t know which one is Miki, Yoshiko or Ran ^ ^
    Anyway, they’re so pretty.. Even in that era where i *think* plastic surgery is not as common as now. And their album covers look great too (non-photoshop!)


    • Indeed they are!🙂

      The very first picture in this post (left to right):

      Miki Fujimura (藤村美樹)
      Ran Ito (伊藤蘭)
      Yoshiko Tanaka (田中 好子)


  7. […] Per avere altre informazioni, video, immagini su queste ragazze consiglio questi 2 articoli, ma non si trova molto materiale in una lingua diversa dal Giapponese: https://celestialkitsune.wordpress.com/2009/03/15/japanese-music-idols-candies-1970s/ […]


  8. Me siento muy triste a pesar d que no las vi ni las conocí me enamore de Sue y del grupo


  9. […] Japanese Music Idols: Candies (1970s) […]


  10. […] un bar, des infirmières interprètent une chanson des Candies au karaoké. Ce trio féminin était très populaire dans les années 70 au Japon. Tengo choisit de […]


  11. Ohhhh!!!! Great discovery!!!

    Ran Ito(伊藤蘭)called Ran, Yoshiko Tanaka(田中好子)called Sue and Miki Fujimura(藤村美樹)called Miki.

    So the names of the (first) three guardian characters of Amu in Shugo Chara were a reference to this group!?😄 Oh, good thing I still remembered their names, at least. I read the manga years ago, but can’t remember it too well anymore.

    Nice!

    P.S. I can’t unsee my internship superiors whenever I look at their photos.😄


    • Probably it was that reference!

      My favorite is Miki Fujimura – I love her smile and voice!

      Wow, you have awesome superiors! I should get an internship there!😛


      • Coincidentally, Miki is my favorite among Amu’s guardian charas!😄 She’s the artsy and boyish type–just like me!

        I know, right? I have awesome superiors. Now, if they’d just remember me, and contact me to treat me to a lavish dinner as their reward for my good work (didn’t receive monetary reward after completion of work hours, but they held a farewell party for us instead!).😄


        • Yay! Go Miki!

          They should have treated you better for all that hard work! Well, at least that farewell party was good! They will get the next intern who is lazy, then they will remember you and appreciate all your work more! They may not say it or do anything, but these thoughts will be on their minds!



Leave a Reply

