New Anime Spring 2009

I am going to list most of the shows scheduled for April 2009 in chronological order as documented by Anime News Network, and then I’ll give you brief synopsis with my thoughts and notes about each anime (grouped by day of the week) with trailers and links to my previews.

Kōkyō Shihen Eureka Seven: Pocket ga Niji de Ippai (movie) 2009-04-25
Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann: Ragan-hen (movie) 2009-04-25
Cobra The Animation: Time Drive (OAV) 2009-04-24
ToHeart2 adplus (OAV) 2009-04-24
Yurumates (OAV) 2009-04-24
Crayon Shin-chan: Otakebe! Kasukabe Yasei Ōkoku (movie 17) 2009-04-18
Detective Conan: The Raven Chaser (movie 13) 2009-04-18
Last War of Heavenloids and Akutoloids (movie) 2009-04-18
Hatsukoi Limited (TV) 2009-04-11 to …
Eden of The East (TV) 2009-04-09 to …
Sōten Kōro (TV) 2009-04-07 to …
Sugar Bunnies Fleur (TV) 2009-04-07 to …
07-Ghost (TV) 2009-04-06 to …
Before Green Gables (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Cross Game (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Fullmetal Alchemist (TV 2) 2009-04-05 to …
Guin Saga (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Hanasakeru Seishōnen (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Jewelpet (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Metal Fight Beyblade (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Natsu no Arashi! (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Saki (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Shangri-La (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Tayutama -Kiss on my Deity- (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Tears to Tiara (TV) 2009-04-05 to …
Gokujō!! Mecha Mote Iinchō (TV) 2009-04-04 to …
Shin Mazinger Shōgeki! Z-Hen (TV) 2009-04-04 to …
Shinkyoku Sōkai Polyphonica crimson S (TV) 2009-04-04 to …
Valkyria Chronicles (TV) 2009-04-04 to …
Hayate the Combat Butler!! (TV) 2009-04-03 to …
Higepiyo (TV) 2009-04-03 to …
To Love-Ru (OAV) 2009-04-03
Asura Cryin’ (TV) 2009-04-02 to …
Basquash! (TV) 2009-04-02 to …
K-ON! (TV) 2009-04-02 to …
Pandora Hearts (TV) 2009-04-02 to …
Phantom ~Requiem for the Phantom~ (TV) 2009-04-02 to …
Queen’s Blade -Rurō no Senshi- (TV) 2009-04-02 to …
Charady no Joke na Mainichi (TV) 2009-04-01 to …
Koihime†Musō (OAV) 2009-04-01
Mainichi Kāsan (TV) 2009-04-01 to …
Sengoku Basara (TV) 2009-04-01 to …
44 thoughts on “New Anime Spring 2009: Naked Men with Toxic Assets

  1. wow! thanx for the review. i’ll definitely catch shangri-la, although the storyline sounds ridiculous to me. K-On has the loveliest character design, so i’ll try that too. and the cast for queen’s blade is amazing!!! i detest the design but i might watch a couple of eps.

    1. You are welcome 🙂

      I have not read the novel, so not sure how the story of Shangri La goes. I was somewhat disappointed by protagonist’s appearance on the screenshots, but I’ll wait till trailer and the first episode is available to make my final assessment. I was impressed by the background art though 🙂

      Indeed, the cast of Queen’s Blade is quite good 🙂

  2. Best plot goes to East of the Eden for me. Careless Monday makes me laugh. Shangri-la seems to have an interesting one too. K-ON, Phantom, and Guin Saga need to be checked out too. I think Pandora Hearts will get the most Japanese junior high school girls to fall in love with it. 07-Ghost gets the “you stole your costume designs from Code Geass” award. Queen’s Blade and Valkyria Chronicles will be given a chance… and I will definitely have to see the second season of Hayate and the updated Dragonball Z!

    1. Yes, the plot of Eden of the East seems intriguing 🙂

      If Guin Saga lasted for 123 volumes, there must be something good in it.

      Yup, Pandora Hearts might do that 😛

      Indeed, they shamelessly stole costume design from Geass 😛

  3. So much to do !
    I’d say Shangri-la, Eden of the east, Hanasakeru Seishounen and FMA at the least. The rest will depend on time and bandwidth…
    That was quite a comprehensive post, thanks 🙂

  4. Wow what a long detailed list. I am at this point trying to get a control of my real life.. so I can only scan plots and see if the animes are a hit or miss on my things to watch.

  5. That… is a very detailed list. Wow.

    Agh, that banner for Shangri-la made me want to watch it, but like you said, the screenshots are just turning me away. However, I’m still probably going to watch the entire season.

    K-ON! is a must-watch for me. The KyoAni label is interesting, but the concept sounds great, and I’m loving the art style and character designs. Mio reminds me of Kagami. D:

    Other anime I’m planning to watch include Hayate S2, Natsu no Arashi, Asura Cryin’, Ristorante Paradiso, and Hatsukoi Gentei.

    I’m not so sure if I should watch Saki. For me, it’s an all-star cast plus some good art vs. a not-so-interesting concept of mahjong. If it isn’t too technical and whatnot, I’ll follow it, but I have no idea how to play mahjong. :/

    However, I’m planning on watching a few episodes of every anime this season, since in the past few seasons, I missed such gems as Kannagi, and I don’t want to make that mistake again. Of course, I’m not going to watch Beyblade and the like (*shudder*).

    1. Yes, I’ll have to watch a few episodes of Shangri La to see if I can tolerate the Rosen character design.

      It sounds like K-ON will be a very popular series.

      Well, Saki sounds like a natural progression: card game, Go, and now Mahjong 😛

      Yes, if you have the time, it is good to sample a few episodes of each show.

  6. What long list of shows. Very helpful to know what is airing when. Also very dizzy to see that many new shows airing this Spring. Hard to pick which ones to see. Guess I’ll trial a few base on recommendations. I do have at least 3 on my to see list for now.

  7. Eden of the East is definitely on top of my “must check out!” list because of interesting plot and awesome staff. Kinda curious about Ristorante and K-ON too, and a few others.^^

    Of course I’ll also be checking out the first episodes of almost every Spring series for my first impressions post. xD

  8. 10, no maybe 15 series I’m interested in.. but

    I’m not sure what the backstory is on Kiss of my Deity but boy it looks… fun lol.

    Yea, sort of pumped about a lot of these. I’ll be sharing my picks later this or next week.

    1. Yes, plenty of potentially good series this season 🙂

      The backstory on Kiss of my Deity is that it is based on an erogame 😛 The website even has a typing minigame with pantsu falling down from the sky >.>

      I’ll check out your picks then 🙂

  9. I know this anime just ended but if any one as new on when the 2nd season of skip beat will be out i would like to know 😛

Leave a Reply

