Ristorante Paradiso Anime 2

Is it love?

Another great episode πŸ™‚ I liked Fumiko Orikasa performance as Nicoletta in this episode. Also I enjoy subtle changes in expressions that portray different emotions very well.

The set up is quite interesting as we see several generations facing similar problems. This anime deals with separation and communication.

Francesco spends most of the time with his grandfather because his parents are very busy, just as Nicoletta in her youth. Olga divorced with Nicoletta’s father and left her. However, Olga still loves her daughter, yet has difficulty expressing her feelings and connecting with Nicoletta. Claudio also divorced with his wife a while ago, but it seems his candle of love has not extinguished yet.

Nicoletta faces an identity crisis and decides to pursue cooking career. She is contemplating about love and falls into trap like many other people. Often people confuse kindness with love. It is especially true of people with difficult past. Sometimes clients think they are in love with their therapists, and, unfortunately, some psychologists take advantage of that… Sex with clients is very irresponsible of a therapist and can have a widely ranging detrimental effects for clients.

One of the main reasons why some people easily fall in love in such circumstances is because nobody was so nice to them before. When they experience such a warm treatment, it can be misinterpreted as love. Nicoletta had a difficult childhood growing without a mother. Seeing such a kind and beautiful gentleman as Claudio can be overwhelming for a young mind. Moreover, such feelings might be further fueled by a need for a kind father she didn’t have due to Olga’s divorce.

This issue has another side of course. Friendly behavior can be falsely dismissed by some people as just that, whereas it is just a more subtle expressions of stronger feelings. Communication is one of the keys to good relationships. Whenever, you are not sure what is the intent of the other person, try to check it, but do it in a more subtle way than Nicoletta πŸ˜›

Related Posts:

11 thoughts on “Ristorante Paradiso Episode 2: Real Gentleman

  1. Hem. Hahaha, I don’t know how to react when I saw your screen caps of… that scene. For sure, I know that my face turned red! It was definitely some kind of reflex; you can say that I don’t follow any romantic shows at all. But apart from that, I like it that this series touches on relationships of everyday life. If the story line flows according to plan, it may very well be a memorable one. (:

    1. Yes, that scene was certainly daring πŸ™‚

      Oh, why not follow romantic shows?

      Yes, the slice-of-life part of the series is something I enjoy too πŸ™‚

  2. I don’t know! It never occurred to me to do so, probably. Some of the shows I follow are the American series 24 and House MD. I’m so accustomed to watching shows like these since my teens, haha. Which explains why I’m incredibly tactless with romance that my friends insist that I watch some now! (:

    1. Oh, I see. It is not that you don’t like romance anime, it is just that your attention is focused on something else πŸ™‚

      House and 24 are interesting shows πŸ™‚

      Resist peer pressure! πŸ˜› However, it might be worth check out some romance anime at some point when you have time. Variety is good and will help you with your writing (not to say that your writing is bad – I like it, but every writer can improve πŸ™‚ )

  3. hummm~ I didn’t read the manga so my theories might sound a bit off..
    1- There IS something between Gigi and Claudio
    2- I think one of them is gay
    3- maybe that’s why his wife left him
    4- he feels sorry for her

    TwT and I hope I’m mistaken

    1. All your points are plausible πŸ™‚

      Recall that one person left the restaurant because he didn’t want to wear glasses. It might have been a person Claudio loved. He might have left his wife for that person, but that person left him. Thus, Claudio does not want to be hurt anymore and keeps wearing the ring, but he does feel bad for his ex-wife.

  4. Yes, maybe you are right; my attention always wanders away from romance. Funny, because I tend to write love-related poems occasionally. Oh yes indeed, I love those two series! Dr. House is just so lulzy and 24 is a show that keeps the suspense running. Very few series does that nowadays. Wow you like my writing? o_o I’m flattered, but my blog posts are very… sporadic. No, your advice is true, there’s always room for improvement! I’m waiting (rather impatiently) for Ristorante Paradiso to finish downloading so I can see it for myself. ((: If you are interested, I dump most of whatever I write here: http://lanoviadelcadaver.deviantart.com/gallery/

    Enjoy (:

    Haha, thanks for the tips, and I will definitely tell you what I think of this anime when I’m done with it!

Leave a Reply

