“Mom, I will be a singer!” Ai Kawashima (Place Promised in Our Early Days), a 16 year old girl, promised her mother to make her dream come true, and came to Tokyo alone at the time of high school entrance. With no friends and no support in Tokyo, she started with the street performances. Her steady activities finally led a miracle in the summer of 2003…

Ai Kawashima and her mother

The title reminds me of Kurosawa’s Rhapsody in August… Symphony in August will be directed by Akio Nishizawa (Nitaboh, Japan Our Homeland) with music by Makoto Kuriya (Nitaboh, Japan Our Homeland, Evangelion), and leading role voiced by Misato Fukuen. Symphony in August will air on August 22, 2009. It sounds like a very promising film – I’ll definitely check it out 🙂

Ai Kawashima “Kimi no Koe” from The Place Promised in Our Early Days

Ai Kawashima’s Street Performances

Further Reading:

Related Posts:

9 thoughts on “Symphony in August – Anime Film Based on Auto-Biography of Ai Kawashima

  1. Oooh, it was auto-biography of a singer? Now that I think about it, I think I did hear something like that somewhere. PV didn’t really grab my attention though.

    1. Yes, it sounds like the film is based on her auto-biography.

      I agree that the PV is not very impressive, but I’ll check out the film 🙂

  2. Hi, I would like to ask that eventually have you seen the film? What was like? Is it well worth seeing?
    I look for it everywhere, but i didn’t find it yet.

    Sorry for my poor English, i hope that it’s still understandable.

Leave a Reply

