Hayao Miyazaki at Comic-Con 2009

Why Miyazaki always had female leads?

“Women are strong and beautiful.”

Lasseter: Talk about how you develop your stories.

Miyazaki: My process is thinking, thinking and thinking. Thinking about my stories for a long time. If you have a better way, please let me know.

Lasseter: We have a storyboard team and we re-work our sequences over and over. With Miyazaki, I’ve watched him work. He sits down and storyboards everything by himself. It becomes the layout for his film. It just comes out of his head, and it always amazes me. [pauses] I’m gushing because I’m sitting next to Hayao Miyazaki.

Miyazaki: I think working on a storyboard alone is a custom we have in Japan, in terms of animation. It’s not just I who works that way. Since I’m slow, it seems I’m working on the storyboard all the time.

Lasseter: What was the inspiration for “Ponyo”?

Miyazaki: We just saw a story about a frog. But the first idea I had for “Ponyo” as about a little boy who picks up a frog. But I couldn’t work out a good character for a frog. So I turned it into a goldfish. I was lucky. It was good that I turned it into a goldfish.

Lasseter: This films is one of the most colorful films you have created. Talk about how you chose the colors.

Miyazaki: I wanted to make it a simple story. I wanted to show simplicity through the colors. Since the main character, the goldfish, is red, the other colors had to be brightened as well so they would contrast.

Source: LA Times

In 2003, Hayao Miyazaki decided not to attend the Academy Awards, even though his film, “Spirited Away,” was up for Best Animated Feature.. Miyazaki, who has not spoken publicly of the subject, today explained his reasons in an interview with The Times at Comic-Con.

“The reason I wasn’t here for the Academy Award was because I didn’t want to visit a country that was bombing Iraq,” he said. “At the time, my producer shut me up and did not allow me to say that, but I don’t see him around today. By the way, my producer also shared in that feeling.”

Source: LA Times

Miyazaki on Ponyo

“The way nature and environment has been reflected in ‘Ponyo’ is that I thought Ponyo’s natural strength was connected to the sea and the ocean — the strength that the sea and ocean have,” Miyazaki said. “In many ways, if you look down deep, the strength of people is connected to nature and the depth of nature. And so, that is why when Ponyo comes to the land. She uses the strength of the sea to come. It’s not really a film that has environmental issues or ecological issues in it as much as the strength and the power of nature that I have conveyed.”

Source: Blastmagazine

Related Posts:

3 thoughts on “Hayao Miyazaki at Comic-Con 2009

  1. Well, on the Iraq thing, the fact is 90% of Hollywood opposed the invasion so I think he would have felt right at home in the Oscars.

Leave a Reply

