h1

Nobuyuki Tsujii (Pianist)

July 26, 2009

“When I was a kid, I once said, ‘I’m blind,’ and my parents went quiet. So I quickly added, ‘But I’m all right because I play the piano,’ to try and console them. It’s my true feeling,” Tsujii said.

Nobuyuki Tsujii (born September 13, 1988) is a Japanese pianist, who won the Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in 2009 along with Haochen Zhang of China.

Tsujii was born blind but was gifted with talent for music. At the age of 2, he began to play Jingle Bells that his mother had been humming with a toy piano. He began his formal study of piano at the age of 4.

In 1998, at the age 10, he debuted on the stage to play with The Century Orchestra Osaka. In April 2007, he entered Ueno Gakuen University. (Source)

“It’s my closest friend. When I play, I feel a sense of unity with the piano.” However, Tsujii regrets being unable to attend university classes, enjoy karaoke or have meals with friends.

“I want to accumulate more experiences in my life to improve my ability to express music.”

Chopin is Tsujii’s favorite composer. “I’m attracted by his works’ delicate and beautiful melodies and harmony. I want to be a (great) pianist so that people will say, ‘I want to listen to Tsujii’s Chopin.’ I’ve also composed music as a hobby, but I want to study hard to compose music. I also want to fall in love. “I like a gentle woman. (Figure skater) Mao Asada is nice.” (Source)

Nobuyuki Tsujii plays Chopin Twelve Etudes, Op.1o during the preliminary round of the 13th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition on May 23, 2009. He played all twelve of Frederic Chopin’s Op. 10 Etudes as part of his performance in the preliminaries.

It takes participants three months to advance from the preliminary round to the final. In the final round, Tsujii first played Frederic Francois Chopin‘s Concerto No. 1, and two days later he played Sergei Rachmaninov‘s Concerto No. 2.

Nobuyuki Tsujii 辻井伸行 2009 Cliburn Competition. Final Concert: Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No.2 in C minor, Op.18-3-2

Rachmaninov is one of my favorite composers🙂 Nobuyuki Tsujii’s talent and dedication are incredible! I hope he’ll develop further as a pianist and compose his own works.

Further Reading:

2 comments

  1. Cliburn is serious! Fabulous playing. I believe Kissin is also big on Chopin🙂


    • Yes, Kissin is another outstanding pianist. Great minds think alike🙂



Leave a Reply

