h1

Thank You for 1 000 000!

September 12, 2009

Art by Neon Vision

Thank you everyone for visiting my blog!😀

I especially appreciate interesting comments of these regular visitors🙂

Sakura, Cheri, Ayumikat, Animekritik , Mei, DiegoSteelboundFFVIIKnight, Gaguri Muhootsaver, Ryan A, Miz, Panther, Dohrnaira, Lostty, Kanzeon, Chiisai, Dramatis, Foomafoo, Gyurri7Nakayo, Phossil, Okami-Sensei, Ariane Beldi.

Back in July 2006, when I started this blog dedicated mostly to screenshots of the environments in Guild Wars, I never thought that at some point the blog will get one million views. Very few people visited the blog ( the exception was a small Totoro you can see below who appeared due to a post about leaked armor that got 11K hits that day😛 ) until I started blogging about anime in May 2008😛 I did post an occasional AMV before, but episodic posts and news about anime started around that time. My first shows were Macross Frontier, Kaiba, and Kure-nai. Later I also started posting about Japanese culture, art, science and technology as well.

Now the situation is somewhat different. I started a new job and quite busy right now, so my posting frequency is somewhat lower (I used to post about 20 posts per week). Moreover, my time off due to relocation resulted in a nice set of Totoro ears you can see below😛

Also another culprit for the lack of posts is my Twitter. I blame FFVIIKnight and Kanzeon who seduced me to the dark side… Now instead of making a post, I just put a link in Twitter 😛 It saves time, and, at the same time, I am able to share with the people things that I find interesting. If you don’t have a Twitter account, I encourage you to join or you can subscribe to my Twitter via RSS. Also I post a summary of my Twitter posts occasionally under Foxy Digest🙂 Nevertheless, I will continue posting here, and will open a few new categories soon😉

Thank you again for visiting Kitsune’s Thoughts!🙂

54 comments

  1. Congratulations!


    • Thank you!🙂


  2. A huge congratulations to you!

    Sorry that I’ve not been commenting recently, but I still come and read many of your posts!


    • No problem, thank you for visiting🙂


  3. congrats ^^


  4. CONGRATS! =D

    Very nice Totoro graph! =3 You’ve got luck on your side!

    I think I actually bookmarked your stretching post… (to help my bad posture)… it was informative, so thank you for that! =3


    • THANK YOU!😀

      I just love Totoro🙂

      I am glad that stretching post was helpful to you🙂 I plan to write similar posts in the future🙂


  5. Congratulations! No, wait, that’s too cliched. …


    Arg, I can’t think of anything else to say!


    • That’s ok, thank you for visiting🙂


  6. Congratulations on the million! I am still damn far away from it. NOT A FAMOUZ BLOGGARS


    • Thank you!🙂 Well, your coverage is very detailed and you have some new co-authors too, so I am sure things will be better for you. Also raw numbers are just a part of it – you have many comments for example🙂


  7. Congratulations kitsune!🙂 Thanks for mentioning me here even though I don’t really think I was that of a regular visitor xD.

    Congratulations again for reaching the milestone!


    • Thank you, Foomafoo🙂


  8. Congratulations!

    Now just send over a box of freshly roasted dango to my place and the celebrations will be complete.😉


    • Thank you🙂

      haha Sure, here you go😛


  9. Haha I could still recall you thanking us readers for a previous around of pageviews not long ago! Anyhow I’m pleased that I’m mentioned yet again-but you deserve the credit as your blog entries are full of fun and content! It’s because of your interesting posts that us people check back so regularly, so keep it up yea. (:

    PS: I got your email but haven’t got around to replying it yet… perhaps soon when I can sit down and write properly.


    • Thank you, I am glad you continue reading and commenting🙂

      PS Take your time🙂


  10. Amazing achievement…congrats!! Plus the Totoro is…well, unique. I’m gonna have to borrow this idea at some point..


    • Thanks!🙂 Perhaps, Garnet who turns into Mazinger😛


      • hmmm…hmmm….hmmmmm….!


  11. Twitter is evil. I refuse to be sucked in. And I asked, Twitter does not give you cookies for joining =.=


    • Yes, they should have definitely included cookies in the package!


  12. Rub it in jerk! Haha, just kidding. Seriously, congratulations on being insanely popular.

    One day I shall glean the secret of your success, and that of the others, and once I have acquired enough dark materia, I will absorb all of your powers, fusing us into a single, new entity which will continue to evolve in the vast infinity of the Net. Or something. You can’t prove it won’t happen someday .

    Actually I suspect the reason people like your blog so much is that it’s full of visuals (I’m a screencap whore myself), is consistently intelligent/informative without making our brains aslpode with a HUEG wall of text, and it’s updated all ze time, as opposed to twice a month like some people.

    So um… good job being good at life, I guess. Hehe.


    • Thank you, but I don’t think that this blog is insanely popular😛

      Be careful what you wish for😛

      However, I do wish you success with your blogging🙂

      Yes, I like art🙂 Some people don’t realize that writing for the web is quite different from traditional media. This is a good source from one of the leading usability experts.


      • Whoa. Ominous Latin Chanting ftw. Thanks for the link, reading now.

        1 million views is nothing to scoff at, but your humbleness is admirable.


        • I like such chants too🙂

          You are welcome🙂


  13. Omedetou!! ^^


    • Arigatou!! ^_^


  14. wow. congratulations🙂 banzai! banzai!banzai!!
    it’s always a blast coming here. great stuff that you’re always introducing, it is (haha, i sound like yoda now :P)
    and it’s true. pictures do say a thousand words🙂 so it’s a great way to go with the picture-based anime posts. thanks kitsune


    • Thank you!🙂

      haha I am glad you like my blog🙂


  15. LOL…Tototo ears for the WIN! Congrats once again for another milestone achievement. (/^o^)/

    I see that the busy bug has hit you too like it did me when I started my new job a month and a half ago. I don’t think I’ll be ever to breathe properly this coming week let alone blog a proper post. Therefore, twitter is indeed a useful way to provide short bursts of updates and grumbles…lol. So, follow on everyone.😛


    • Thank you! ^_^

      It sounds like you understand what I am going through🙂 Twitter does ease the updates🙂


  16. Congratulations!

    I think your posting frequency is fast enough.
    I’m too busy these days, so my blogging pace has been lax than before.😦


    • Thank you!🙂

      Yes, this time is quite busy for many people with school starting and grant application deadlines.


  17. Cool, I never got to the Totoro distribution in class, thank you for the demonstration ! Congratulations for achieving it🙂


    • Thank you!🙂 Yeah, it is a bimodal distribution with relatively high third standardized moment😛


  18. Aha, congratulations Kitsune! Yes, it’s fun reading your anime blogging and all of the other types of neat posts you’ve done here. :3


    • Thank you, Chiisai!🙂 Good to know that you like my posts🙂


  19. Congratulations!!

    I figured it was only a matter of time, since you have such a great blog, but thinking about it – 1 million sounds so absurdly large. I think if my blog ever hits 1 million, I’ll just about die in shock.

    My latest reason that makes me not want to join twitter is that I was just reading about how they’re desperately trying to find some way to make the service profitable. I don’t want to get hooked on the service and then learn later on I’m going to have to do something I don’t want to, all so I can keep using the service.🙂


    • Thank you!🙂

      haha I am sure you’ll reach a million soon!🙂

      Oh, I see what you mean about Twitter. It sound like you are very careful about the steps you are going to take. I recall Panther said on Twitter that he wanted you to join and I also mentioned it too🙂 If murky waters of Twitter do not fit your taste, how about melative? That’s a nice alternative with many interesting features, and I hope RyanA is not going to sell it right away😛 I have not joined yet, but considering it🙂


  20. Congrats. Hope the next year goes even better than the past, hm? Or maybe it’s too early to be thinking that.

    Good luck.


    • Thanks🙂 I hope, but you are right – too early to tell. Let’s be cautiously optimistic😛


  21. It’s been a while since I’ve last visited here, but I do say Congrats Kitsune. =D Many more hits to come!!! Good job!!


    • What a surprise! Hi, Nicoleta!🙂 It’s been a while indeed. Thank you!🙂

      PS While you were away, they even made an anime about you, and I thought it was the best of the season😉


  22. I think Its incredible to review how all started.
    Congratz in your milestone. 2000000 is around the corner. ^^


    • Oh yes, I think that is true of my life in general: it just takes very unexpected turns. If I knew what I am doing now 10 years ago, I would be quite surprised😛

      Thank you🙂


  23. Congratulations!!!!!


    • Thank you!!!🙂


  24. Whoa, very nice…wait how many zeros are in that number, it’s too much for my poor little blog to comprehend ;_;


    • Good comments are better than zeros😉


  25. Hahaha That Totoro in the stats graph made my day!😀


    • haha Glad you enjoyed it!🙂



Leave a Reply

