h1

Best Anime Summer 2009

October 15, 2009

Best Anime Summer 2009

The list of my favorites of Summer anime 2009🙂 Keep in mind that the list is highly subjective and based only on the anime I’ve seen🙂

Best Music

Hikaru Nanase (Canaan)

Music played an important role in the series, setting the mood very well. I look forward to hearing possibly the best OST of the year🙂

Best Seiyuu

Male Supporting Role

Akio Ohtsuka (Shamu – Canaan)

Not much range, but his voice just sounds very cool🙂

Male Leading Role

Hiroshi Kamiya (Koyomi Araragi – Bakemonogatari, Itoshiki Nozomu – Zan SZS)

He was good as usual. Unfortunately, I didn’t hear any other good male leads.

Female Supporting Role

Akiko Yajima (Rin, Chie – Zan SZS)

I just love Rin’s voice😀

Chie is good too🙂

Kikuko Inoue (Lust – Fullmetal Alchemist: Brootherhood, Okusan – Zan SZS)

Compare and contrast

Rie Tanaka (Liang Qi in Canaan)

Amazing performance that captured the character of Liang Qi very well! Warning: Canaan Spoilers For comparison purposes, listen to this (Rie Tanake and Mamiko Noto) [via Siegel Clyne]

Female Leading Role

Miyuki Sawashiro (Canaan in Canaan)

Excellent performance with wide variety of emotions🙂 I didn’t see many anime featuring Sawashiro before, so it was a nice discovery this season for me🙂 Now going through the list of her anime, I was quite surprised to see Maria Tarō Sekiutsu and Shinkurō Kurenai! She can really transform herself to fit her roles🙂

Speaking of Canaan, I have to mention the only reason I started watching it – Maaya Sakamoto😛 She did very well as Alphard, but sounded too similar to Ciel. That similarity somewhat dampened my impression, but her young Alphard was excellent. I want her to play some feminine role next time.

This is the best Canaan AMV that also features voices of Ohtsuka, Sakamoto, and Sawashiro🙂

Next Page

Pages: 1 2

14 comments

  1. I think Horo from Spice and Wolf deserves also first place female role. She IS and perhaps will be THE female. Cute and sexy, sneaky, intelligent and strong yet fragile and sensitive. Many facial expressions, showing affection and outbursts of sorrow and anger. Gorgeous.
    I haven’t seen Canaan but I think that they are both worthy. Just the amvs in your post can show it. Action-packed anime that it must have been ,ne? Although appealing guns and killings are not my cup of tea…:( see you soon in the next post


    • Yes, Horo is a nice character🙂 I still remember your request, I just have not found enough pictures yet.

      I dislike action genre, but I enjoy good directing. Canaan reminded me of Kuroshitsuji because the visual characteristics were outstanding, but the plot was not very good.


  2. Canaan and Zan SZS dominate this post. What about some of the voices for Spice and Wolf II or Umineko no Naku Koro Ni?


    • Yes, Spice and Wolf II and Umineko no Naku Koro Ni have some good voice actors, but I have not seen many episodes of either to assess them well. One thing is certain though: Daisuke Ono sounds so much better as Sebastian than Battler😛


  3. Riiiiiin! Also, wow nice picks. I haven’t even started Canaan or Blue Flowers, so things to look forward to. ^^


    • Yes! Rin❤

      Thank you🙂 I love taking and selecting pictures🙂

      Oh, that's good, you might find some pleasant surprises, but I have to warn you: many people have fallen into a trap of assumption… They expected some uber sophisticated plot from Canaan, but got some kitties and bunnies instead😛 It is not that bad actually. If you look closely, some themes are latent in the series.


  4. I agree with your pick on that series called Canaan. For someone who doesn’t know what the show is about, I thought that final scene was particularly poignant and gripping. I feel for the guy in glasses. So sad. ): For me FMA is a very on-and-off affair HAHA, so I can’t say anything about it. But from what I have seen, it’s a great show. (: I like Edward. I can relate to him, since we’re both short people! Recently I found out from my parents that in my childhood I consumed a lot of medication which left me well, stuck at a certain height and thin for my age. Had a bit of asthma back then. My cousin often joked that he could pick me up… although I’m not going to let him experiment that theory haha. Small, thin, clumsy… omg I’m turning into Bella Swan. O_O Sans Edward Cullen.


    • That scene was quite good, and I also feel sad for the guy in glasses. However, technically, this is not the last episode – the ending episode is full of hope and love😉

      I enjoyed the original FMA, especially music🙂

      It sounds like you had a difficult childhood😦 I hope things are much better now…

      Don’t let dimensions of your body turn into a complex! You have a big heart – that’s the most important thing🙂


      • Oh thanks. (: I must have thanked you a dozen times by now! Ohh that wasn’t the ending? Sure looked like it. /Fail. FMA has quite a blend of culture; love the middle eastern influence here and there! And it’s kinda German, Nazi-ish, maybe it’s their uniforms.

        Oh, my childhood was pretty much like that.:/ Not the best, but I’m glad that it was really bad. So far, I have yet to see things picking up though…

        Haha, I’m not particularly worried about my body, although thanks for the concern. That’s the sweetest comment I received all year- I’m grateful!😀 People just like to say I’m thin, that’s all. As long as I’m not starving myself, which I simply can’t, what with such good food around lol.


        • Yes, FMA blends many cultural elements.

          I hope things will get better for you🙂

          As long as your BMI does not drop too low, your cycles are in order, and you are happy, it should be fine🙂


  5. haha…”Get some” on fast-repeat😛
    anyways, canaan is a tie for me this past summer, with bakemonogatari & GA Geijutsu Art Design Class.
    it can’t be helped, since Sawashiro Miyuki was in all 3🙂

    Canaan because of :
    1. best nendoroid use;
    2. best ensemble cast (taxi driver, vampire impersonation (yunyun), cummings x liang qi x pellet gun fetish;
    3. best washroom fight;
    4. best use of fuits/buns in place of plastic surgery (yunyun);
    5. top-notch OST;
    6. possibly the best visuals

    Bakemonogatari because of: senjogahara (there’s no need for any other reason🙂 )

    GA because of : tomokane & the iro-rangers 🙂


    • haha Yes, Sawashiro is great🙂 I also enjoyed GA Class🙂

      That washroom fight was excellent🙂 Alphard has nice legs😛

      haha Iro-rangers were fun🙂


  6. Haha, SZS have some of the best supporting characters, I love Rin and Chie too. You love them just because they’re there, they don’t do much but can’t help but love them =D


    • Indeed, SZS has an excellent cast of characters🙂



Leave a Reply

