h1

My Anime Harem: Wives

November 14, 2009

Now that you know my husband choices, let’s look at the wives. I’ll start with a retrospective…

Michiru Kaioh (Sailor Neptune)

Yay! Sailor scouts!😀 Sailor Moon was a big part of my childhood and one of the few anime that I watched regularly at that time. My taste changed somewhat overtime. Then, I liked Sailor Mars the most – I guess I was into brunettes with long hair😛 Now I prefer Neptune and Mercury.

Michiru is intelligent, graceful, plays a violin, paints, and swims. As Usagi mentioned, she is an ideal example of a princess🙂

Now, inclusion of this character in the list is controversial because if we take all the circumstances of her world, then her “cousin” would not like it at all and Michiru herself would never marry a man. Thus, even though it would be impossible, I included her to show what character I like. It is quite sad actually because in RL several girls I really liked at different periods in my life turned out to be lesbians… It’s ok though, we remain good friends to this day.

Ami Mizuno (Sailor Mercury)

Ami is a very intelligent and kind person who studies to become a doctor🙂 She also shares my love for cats🙂

Belldandy (Ah My Goddess)

Belldandy is a very nice person, but I have some reservations about this choice because she is too submissive and does too much to please Keichi. However, Kikuko Inoue can melt anyone with her amazing voice🙂

Nakiami (Xam’d Lost Memories)

Nakiami had a traumatic past, but she is very resilient, altruistic, and one of the few people who truly understand the sanctity of all life. Moreover, she is an excellent psychotherapist.

Erin (Kemono no Souja Erin)

Erin is almost perfect!🙂 She is always trying to help others and cares about the animals, and has a natural infinite curiosity, optimism, and determination. She is also a very brave person, as we’ve seen in episode seven among many other instances.

Warning: Spoilers!

Nausicaa (Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind)

Miyazaki’s film’s often feature great female characters – Nausicaa is one of the best🙂

“She is not a protagonist who defeats an opponent, but a protagonist who understands, or accepts.” Miyazaki

Nausicaa is a curious scientist and a skilled warrior princess, but she strives for peace and makes the ultimate sacrifice for the cause.

This is one of the best soundtracks of all time🙂

What anime character(s) would you take as a wife?

Related Posts:

Further Reading:

Check out what characters others selected. I especially encourage you to read Animekritik’s post – he even arranged everyone in Tale of Genji style :)

11 comments

  1. Ooooh, Belldandy. Literally, Otaku’s goddess. ^^ That said, I personally like Urd more. I usually find Heroine with a little flaw more attractive than miss Perfect.

    I was wondering… Would you have chosen different characters(for both husband&wives list) if you had to pick most “attractive” female/male list?


    • Yes, many people like Belldandy🙂

      I consider all my choices attractive, but the list could be expanded if we make attractiveness the main criterion. I’ll have to think about it, but here are some of the characters that come to mind now: Urd (hair, eyes), Deedlit (elf), Ryoko (hair, eyes), Tanyuu (wonderful serene face), Minmay (I prefer 2012 version), Kyoko (great overall).


  2. This list has left me speechless. Not in a bad way, mind you, but in a jaw-dropping one. Borrowing an analogy from physics, this would be the anti-harem to my harem. If these two groups met, the universe would explode.


    • hahaha That’s an interesting observation🙂 You have some great characters in your list. For example, Jung-Freud’s name by itself contains so much unstable energy😛

      I carefully considered safety of the universe in my selection: I purposely avoided Washu because two mad scientists working together will surely lead to the destruction of the universe😛


  3. I’m in for Belldandy! hahaha, and Sailor Mercury too! I do have a figurine of her because of my childhood and it was a gift from my father, wierd eh?😄


    • Oh, you have a great dad!🙂


  4. Mars was my favorite Sailor too, then Mercury. It was one of the first anime that I got hooked on when I was a kid too. (Embarrassingly), I still know the words to the OP song from the first series. xD

    I agree with Nakiami. I haven’t seen the other series though and I’m way behind on watching Erin, but I think Erin is also a great choice, considering Uehashi-sensei wrote the book and she’s excellent in character development. Oh, and if you haven’t started/finished the Moribito series yet, I highly recommend it. ^_^


    • Oh, you even know the words? Why embarrassing? It is awesome😀 Yay for Sailor Moon!

      Unfortunately, I am also behind on Erin, but I’ll marathon it soon.

      I still have not seen Moribito, but it is on my watch list🙂


  5. I approve! Well if you ask me… I was always partial to the Outers more so than the inners..

    Kikuko Inoue is such an amazing voice, she was also amazing in person.. ^_^


    • You are such a lucky person to have met her in person!🙂


      • It was a fortunate thing to meet her! I always treasure meetings I have with Japanese people or celebrities, and that is the convention experience.



Leave a Reply

