h1

Best Anime Fall 2009: OP and ED

November 23, 2009

Best Anime Fall 2009: OP and ED

This season I didn’t notice any OP or ED that really stood out among others, but some were nice. This is a list of my favorites.

The Most Bizarre OP/ED

Sora no Otoshimono ED: “Misaki Meguri (岬めぐり)” by Mina (ep 2)

This is just a crazy idea that worked quite well actually😄

Cutest OP

Anyamaru Tantei Kiruminzuu OP: “Poo” by Neko Jump

Best Art

Kimi ni Todoke OP and ED looks great with those soft colors🙂

Kimi ni Todoke ED

Kimi ni Todoke OP

Best Song

Winter Sonata OP: “From the Beginning Until Now” (처음부터 지금까지) by Ryu

The song is from the original and is just excellent🙂

Sasameki Koto OP: “Kanashii Hodo Aoku (悲しいほど青く)” by Natsumi Kiyoura

Nice slow-paced song is refreshing among all the genki type songs this season🙂

Queen’s Blade OP: “Ochinai Sora (墜ちない空)” by ENA

If I recall, Panther brought this OP to my attention.

Other songs I liked:

Best ED

Tegami Bachi ED: “Hatenaki Michi (果てなき道; Endless Road)” by HIMEKA

I like the song and excellent visuals.

Best OP

Darker than Black 2 OP: “Tsukiakari no Michishirube (ツキアカリのミチシルベ; Guidepost of the Moonlight)” by Stereopony

The song is very catchy and animation is interesting🙂

Kobato OP: “Magic Number (マジックナンバー)” by Maaya Sakamoto

This one is the best🙂 I love Maaya, music, uplifting lyrics, and colorful art🙂

13 comments

  1. Yay for your picks.. definitely a nice recap.. ^_^


    • Thank you🙂


  2. Nice list. Lol @ flying pantsus… That was certainly, um, a creative idea. xDD

    I agree with Kimi ni Todoke having good art in the OP/ED sequence. Song-wise, Darker than Black OP and Winter Sonata OP along with KnT ED are in my Top 5. Although the best song for me this season was Letter Bee’s OP. ^^


    • Thank you🙂

      haha Yes, they have a wide imagination😄

      Good, it sounds like we have some similar choices🙂


  3. oh my, i’ve not watched Sora no Otoshimono, so this is what the commotion over “flying pantsu” is all about….yikes, there’s a peckish hawk, and booster-rocket pantsu too 😛
    and as usual, some of the better songs come from the least expected of shows, like Queen’s Blade OP


    • I also have not seen Sora, but all the talk about the flying sequence sparked my curiosity🙂 haha Yes, they even have a hawk and Mach 1.6 pantsu😛

      Yes, QB was another surprise🙂


  4. Lol I know I tweeted about it, because I remember QB as having quite a good OP for its first season despite the lousy story, so I thought I would give this one a try. Really nice once again.

    Yet to listen to DtB’s since I have yet to start watching that one.


    • Yup, some shows may have good music and songs despite poor content.

      Many people seem to like DtB.


  5. Eeks…I’m actually kinda sick of Winter Sonata’s OP Song. It was like the most overplayed Korean Song at the height of the soppy K-Dorama’s popularity to the point of overkill. It was on every one’s karaoke list and still remain a popular karaoke and competition song…ear-ache for me really. No way is it getting on my Top op/ed of the year.😛

    Cute OP is cute…that goes for the title as well.😀
    Lol @ flying underpants. I like HIMEKA’s ED song too. Looking forward to hearing the full version when it’s release this Wed. Tegami Bachi just happen to have both good op/ed songs. I also like both intro and outro themes from Kobato and Kimi ni Todoke. Megumi’s Jellyfish song is rather decent and relaxing. But the ED single is only due out on Dec 9. Am looking forward to have full listen to that as well. Natsu no Arashi’s OP actually sits atop my Fall OP list. Song and visuals are stylishly hip, one that stood out the most for me. Then again, there are only a handful of themes/songs that are above average. For the most part, 09 Fall’s op/ed offerings aren’t as interesting as previous years. What will Winter 09 offer?


    • haha Well, unlike most people, I have not watched the original Winter Sonata series, and have not heard this song until relatively recently, so it did touch me. However, I can see how people can get tired of listening to it over the years.

      Flying pantsu is the highlight of the season it seems😛

      Yup, both OP and ED of Tegami Bachi are good🙂

      Indeed, Natsu no Arashi has a good song, but the visuals are a bit too much😛

      Oh, you mean Winter 2010? There will be Sebastian😛 I hope the season will be fruitful🙂


  6. Magic Number was probably my favourite OP and Hatenaki Michi was probably my favourite ED of this season.❤ Can't wait for Winter 2010 animes to start.😀


    • I also enjoyed Magic Number OP very much🙂


  7. […] Top 25 Anime OP/ED of 2009 / “Poo” as #1? I’m sold. Kitsune’s Thoughts: Best Anime Fall 2009: OP and ED / Solid. “Poo” is on here, too. JanaiBlog: Top 5 Most Disappointing Anime of 2009 / […]



Leave a Reply

