h1

New Anime Winter 2010: Loli Vampires vs Butlers

December 30, 2009

New Anime Winter 2010

I am going to list most of the shows scheduled for January 2010 in chronological order as documented by Anime News Network. Because this season looks rather bleak, I’ll highlight just a few shows. Can you guess what this season is all about? I’ll provide a few clues😛

Fate/stay night Unlimited Blade Works (movie) 2010-01-23
Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha The MOVIE 1st 2010-01-23
Himitsu Kessha Taka no Tsume The Movie 3 2010-01-16
Nodame Cantabile: Finale (TV) 2010-01-14
Hanamaru Kindergarten (TV) 2010-01-10
Kaitō Reinya (TV) 2010-01-09
Seikon no Qwaser (TV) 2010-01-09
Dance In The Vampire Bund (TV) 2010-01-07
Durarara!! (TV) 2010-01-07
Hidamari Sketch × ☆☆☆ (TV) 2010-01-07
Ōkamikakushi (TV) 2010-01-07
Baka to Test to Shōkanjū (TV) 2010-01-06
Omamori Himari (TV) 2010-01-06
Chu-Bra!! (TV) 2010-01-04
Masuda Kōsuke Gekijō Gag Manga Biyori+ (TV) 2010-01-04
So-Ra-No-Wo-To (TV) 2010-01-04
Harukanaru Toki no Naka de 3: Owari Naki Unmei (TV) 2010-01-03
Cobra The Animation (TV) 2010-01-02
Katanagatari (TV) 2010-01-01

Next Page =>

Pages: 1 2 3

37 comments

  1. Hmm. Not many series that caught my attention. Am still in the process of compiling my Winter preview list, so I haven’t read much about the different shows yet. But I’ll watch Nodame Finale, and will check out Durarara!! and Katanagatari. Might check Vampire Bund as well.

    This Winter, I’m planning to catch up on other series that I deemed “on-hold.” Maybe I’d finally resume and catch up with Erin as well. ^^


    • Not many series seemed interesting to me also.

      I look forward to you list🙂

      Indeed, this season is a good time to catch up on other series.

      I finished Erin several hours ago – my favorite anime ever ^_^


  2. I plan to watching Baka to Test to Shōkanjū.
    Because I’m a fan of dir. Shin Oonuma😀


    • Yes, Oomuma is a good director who often collaborated with Shinbo🙂


  3. Vampire Bund is somewhat interesting, Shinbou seems to return to the darker tone of his pre-Shaft works, though I suspect that there won’t be more than two or three decent episodes (as with most recent Shaft shows).

    Durarara!, So-Ra-No-Wo-To, Katanagatari and Hanamaru Kindergarten are the most promising upcoming series, at least based on the staff involved, otherwise not much to look forward to, pretty weak season overall.


    • Vampire has some of the best SHAFT staff, but I don’t like their recent choices of material to animate.

      Yes, the series you mention should be good on the technical side.


  4. The Winter list is just so-so imo but ha, I’m checking out at least the first 2 or 3 episodes of the winter shows…DRRR, SoraNoWoTo, Dance in the Vampire Bund, KatanaGatari with Iwasaki Taku helming the music, woo I look forward to hearing his new work. :-)I wonder if Spring will be any better. There’s one I’m so highly anticipating…hehehe


    • Yes, this season is quite weak.

      Iwasaki tends to produce good music🙂

      Shall we see Seba-san this Spring?😛


      • Well, there’s going to be a *surprise* announcement in the next issue of Gfantasy (which I’m getting of course). Guess we’ll find out if Seba-san will appear in Spring or later. (^_^)


        • Oh, that’s great! Thank you for mentioning it🙂


  5. LOL @ K-ON Goes to War title.

    Also yeah Mayoi Neko Overrun looks like it might be good.


    • haha Yes, K-ON is too popular – they even announced the second season!

      Probably, not going to watch Neko, but that PV sounded cute🙂


  6. good to see an active blog such yours
    looking forward to reading this blog!


    • Thanks, but this blog is not very active actually😛


  7. There are very few series I want to check out this season. Thankfully, it seems like Crunchyroll is willing to stream at least one of those. Durarara!. ^^


    • Yup, not many interesting anime.

      Many people seem to be fascinated with Durarara… The character design reminds me of Y. Quartet.


  8. Sora no woto is the center of attention right now as far as I see, and I’m not surprised. It looks pretty gloomy and seems to be focusing on something pretty serious but the character design implies otherwise. It will either rise high or fall hard. Very interesting🙂


    • Indeed, this anime has some potential, but it is not clear how it will turn out.


  9. Actually Winter 2009-2010 is actually going to be pretty quiet for me in terms of anime watching. Nothing seems to be stamping out really loudly to me at the moment.


    • Yup, same here.


  10. spring 2010 seems to hold promise. PA works is coming back with Angel Beats!…i’m hoping they’ll do their wonder again and going by the 6th PV just out [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gQNipo08ejM],🙂 the concert scenes seem to indicate the show will look visually stunning.
    anyhow, happy new year, Kitsune🙂


    • oops..haha, i was supposed to comment on Winter 2009/2010😛
      Durararara…er how many “ra”s are in that?? i’ll stick with the vampire, some gore is needed to balance out all the fan-service animes this whole year


      • Well, any comment is welcome🙂

        D(ra^4)😛

        Yes, too much fan-service, but gore is not much better though😛


    • I have not heard about Angel Beats!, thank you for mentioning it, but the character design will be one of the barriers for me to watch this show…

      Happy New Year, Mei🙂


  11. Hmm, nothing really stands out for me. (No surprises there, though – weak winters seem par for the course.) Guess I’ll have to content myself with more Hidamari goodness.

    My best wishes for the new year!


    • Yup, winters tend to be cold in several senses of the word😛

      I wonder how Hidamari will turn out this time.

      Happy New Year!🙂


  12. I only want to watch Drrr! and Nodame Finale for winter so far. The Hanamaru Kindergarten looks interesting though. The Vampire loli is very tempting to watch but I really don’t like gore; it might give me nightmares, just as how elfen lied did.


    • Nodame Finale should be good probably.

      Kindergarten reminds me of of this one hahaha

      Oh, you mean all those severed fingers flying in slow motion and other body parts? No, thank you! I also don’t like gore. The best way is to leave it to viewers imagination.


  13. Winter 2010 doesn’t have as many anime that interest me, but I’ll check out Durarara!!, Dance in the Vampire Bund, Katanagatari, and So・ra・no・Wo・to.


    • Yup, those are good choices. Soranowoto had a promising start so far🙂 I’ll check out others later this weekend.


  14. Huray.. Nodame going final!!
    I wonder if the script follow the manga or have different Plot?!
    *i forgot.. I only see nodame anime 1st Season and 3 chapter 2nd Season*


    • Many anime tend to alter manga plot to some extent. I enjoyed this anime, but never found time to finish.


  15. Oooooooooooh Michiru Oshima!!!!!!! (My inner fangirl is squeeing with delight)

    The soundtrack for FMA is still one of my all time favourites. I still find Bratja beautiful.


    • Yes, she is a great composer🙂 I also love FMA soundtrack🙂


  16. whaahh!!!! anime desune honto suki desu…


  17. Why the hell hasn’t been Baka to test to Shoukanjuu getting it’s fair share of attention. This show clearly dominated this winter season if you look at the ratings for the show while Durarara! came in second. The show was not only commercially successful but it managed to stand out in a way thought in possible. The level of comedy presented is original and innovative for its genre.


    • Baka to test to Shoukanjuu does seem to be a popular anime.



Leave a Reply

