h1

Reflections on Anime in 2010

December 31, 2010

Art by Haru

2010… A year that restored my faith in SHAFT and solidified my love for Maaya Sakamoto🙂

I didn’t have much time to watch anime this year, so I’ll focus on only the fraction that I did get a chance to experience. Special thanks goes to Steelbound for his recommendations. He knows my taste well and his suggestions tend to work for me. This post features a different anime per page.

Otome Youkai Zokuro
Kuroshitsuji 2
Uraboku
PSG
Ika Musume
Tatami Galaxy
SHAFT and Arakawa
Sore-Machi
Maaya Sakamoto

I have not watched a single episode of Kuragehime, but I’ll marathon the whole thing after I finish this post😛 It looks so awesome!😀


Next Page


Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

22 comments

  1. Thanks for the shoutout re: PSG. I actually don’t think we watched any of the same current shows this year. I’m pretty sure because the only one I saw was PSG and you didn’t really watch it!

    I’ll try to be more “current” next year…


    • You are welcome – I enjoy reading your posts that often bring interesting insights🙂

      Ha! “Current” is overrated😛 Not easy to find good anime these days.


  2. LOL – What the heck is going on in that anime. Looks goofy as hell – I tend to like those myself xD


    • What is going on does not matter that much – how it is going on is what I am interested in the most🙂


  3. WOW… Uraboku and Ciel’s as well as Utena’s amvs were just awesome~~~ me wants to create one day such amvs~~~ the tatami galaxy’s place references were very interesting, although I don’t know them *sweatdrop* its music is awesome, too😀 – btw thanks for linking to me and much more for considering me a friend🙂 I feel like the little apprentice!

    My favourite anime of this year was Kuragehime! I may consider watch Sore-Machi… I was a bit hesitant with the moe faces… and perhaps I’ll add Arakawa on the watch list, although it seems a bit too bizarre for me

    Next seasons have some diamonds (I hope) in them like the Wandering Son, Fractale, Kimi ni Todoke and in spring a slice of life in onsen from the producers of True Tears!


    • Yes, those are great AMVs, especially Uraboku ones. Kuroshitsuji AMV is a bit flashy though – too many special effects😛

      Well, to know most of those places you must have been living in the area. Yes, the music is very good🙂

      You are welcome🙂

      Kuragehime looks interesting, I’ll try to finish it soon. Probably, you’ll not enjoy Sore-Machi or Arakawa that much because they are too silly, but they do have serious moments, especially in the beginning of the episodes during narration. If you want something more serious, watch full episode of Sore-Machi 12.

      Yes, these anime are also on my list. I wonder how they will turn out.


      • Kuragehime screams btw for a second season! I LUV Kuranosuke~~~ and Tsukimi in creative madness is just wow😉

        I finished Otome Youkai Zakuro, but I can’t say I’m fascinated. Too much sparkles with a bit of blood and lovable yet determined pairs. It had some good drama later in the series which made me cry (Tsukuhane x Enaga is such a beautiful pair) and some good notions on the relationships between youkai and human in the first episodes.Pretty fox girls that aren’t being fetishized that much and for all tastes, too😛 Nice music (attack song and op indeed catchy and the ed song of susikihotaru with riken is beautiful!) But it seemed to me a bit all too clear, ready food. It’s a nice watch nevertheless to kill some time. And if you want to see the great grandpas of the ouran host club members😛


        • Kuranosuke is awesome indeed🙂 I am in the middle of Kuragehime now and enjoy it alot so far🙂

          I have not finished Otome yet, but it sounds like the anime turned out exactly like I thought it would: ok, but not great.

          Great grandpas of ouran host club! hahaha


  4. Happy New Year!

    The anime I most liked from 2010 is Arakawa Under The Bridge. But I think maybe I should check out Sore-Machi too.


    • Happy New Year!

      I also enjoyed Arakawa, but be careful with Sore-Machi because you might still have that maid aversion😛


      • I can get over the maid aversion as long as there’s something else that over-rides it (I got over it in Kaichou wa Maid-sama!)

        However I think the humor wasn’t for me.


        • That makes sense.

          Yes, maid shows with good content are rare.


  5. Quite a few shows there I would like to watch, it’s just hard finding the time. Thanks for the list, I don’t really know what the hell is going on in some of the clips, but some looked really funny, and definitely worth checking out.


    • Yes, finding the time is not easy for me too these days😦

      You are welcome🙂

      haha Yup, Arakawa and Sore-Machi can be very weird, but funny🙂


  6. Happy New Year! Man, you must have been pretty damn busy last year. Hopefully, you’ll get more time this year. ^^


    • Happy New Year!🙂

      Oh yes, 2010 was a revolutionary year for me! I have accomplished my main goal, but I have a feeling that the next year will be even more difficult and busy… We’ll see.


  7. Happy New Year!
    There are some series on this list that I have yet to checkout and now I totally want to. So many series to see! WAHH


    • Happy New Year!

      Yes, so little time. I just prioritize and pick the shows that I am more likely to enjoy🙂


  8. it’s the new year!! happy new year kitsune.
    haha, we’re reflecting on 2010 anime? but the best things i remembered are all those videos you have of those not from 2010…oh..that CANAAN bathroom scene and Kurenai🙂


    • Happy New Year, Mei!🙂

      haha Yes, those are some of my favorite scenes as well🙂


  9. You would know this: is Takahiro Sakurai voicing any leads in 2011? Uraboku, Kuroshitsuji 2 and Otome Youkai Zakuro were my fave series last year!


    • I did a quick search, but I didn’t find Sakurai in any lead roles in Winter 2011 anime so far – sorry.

      Yup, I liked those too.



Leave a Reply

