h1

New Ghibli Film: Kokuriko-Zaka Kara

July 1, 2011

Kokuriko-Zaka Kara (Ghibli)

Synopsis: This anime is based on a manga. Chizuru Takahashi and Tetsurō Sayama’s original manga is set in Showa 38 (1963, a year before the Tokyo Olympics) and follows the coming of age of an ordinary, pigtailed high school girl named Komatsuzaki (23-year-old actress Masami Nagasawa) in Yokohama, a harbor city near Tokyo. Her sailor father went missing after an accident, and her photographer mother is frequently going abroad for work. Her family now runs a lodging house. The manga recounts Komatsuzaki’s everyday life of “laughter and tears” with two boys — a school newspaper member named Shun Kazama (30-year-old Junichi Okada of the music group V6) and the student council president Mizunuma. (ANN)

Staff:

Cast:

Trailer [via @muhootsaver_7]

Compare and contrast the song with

Purring Miyazaki at 0:36! haha

Goro

I hope this one will be better than the Goro’s debut!


17 comments

  1. ”I hope this one will be better than the Goro’s debut!”

    Famous Last Words(TM)?

    It looks nice so far, but I’m honestly just cautious atm.


    • haha😄

      I don’t have high expectations for this one. Probably, it will be decent, but not great. One thing I’ll enjoy for sure – background art😀

      The film that I am really looking forward to is Takahata’s next work. Taketori Monogatari is a classic and would be an apropos conclusion to an outstanding career!🙂


  2. Is this Teshima Aoi singing?
    The songs seem similar, but not as much to call the first a copy IMO. My musical knowledge is very limited, but isn’t the first one in three-four and the second in four-four time? I am more or less only guessing…


    • So… That’s reverse plagiarism!😛 Oh, Hisaishi, what have you done?!😛

      Ryoko Moriyama, 1976


  3. […] Ghibli’s next film […]


  4. I find this my favorite among the Ghibli films I watched… so far.


    • I just watched this film recently and really enjoyed it – certainly one of my Ghibli favorites!🙂 I am glad you liked it too!🙂


      • Yeah, it’s a special Ghibli movie for me, knowing that I wasn’t really invested in their earlier movies. I was surprised to find out this wasn’t directed by Hayao Miyazaki.

        I’m looking forward to When Marnie Was There.


        • Whisper of the Heart and Kiki’s Delivery Service are somewhat similar to this film.

          When Marnie Was There might turn out to be good too.


          • I haven’t watched those two movies yet, but I really want to! I already have Kiki’s Delivery Service, though. I just need the time to sit through it.

            Yep. The trailer for Marnie was really good, especially the music. Expecting a feels train from this movie that I didn’t get to ride on with the other Ghibli movies I have watched.


            • I am glad you have those two on your list🙂

              Low expectations. Always.😉


              • Yeah, I always felt an attraction towards those show, especially Mimi wo Sumaseba (and that’s prolly because of the non-fantasy setting, which also worked for me in Kokurikozaka kara).


                • Non-fantasy settings can work well. Many films by Takahata feature such settings. He was the music director for Kiki’s Delivery Service.


                  • I guess I’m just not as mesmerized by fantasy settings as other people are, which explains why I have a big spot for slice of life shows set in real places.

                    Thanks for mentioning him. I had to look it up, and I realized I forgot Grave of the Fireflies was a Ghibli movie. >.< That's one of my first anime movies, and even today still remains one of my favorites. I think I prefer him over Miyazaki.


                    • It is interesting of you to note that. I also like Takahata’s work a little bit more. Of course, Miyazaki is great and created many good films, but Takahata’s ratio of signal to noise is higher, so to speak haha


                    • You mean, the ratio of YES!:Meh…?😄 That’s a nice metaphor!


                    • haha Yes, exactly!😀



Leave a Reply

