h1

Happy Holidays 2014!

December 23, 2014

KItsune Present

Art by Takano Otohiko

I wish you and your family happiness and health this holiday season and in the new year!๐Ÿ™‚

I mentioned that I started a project a while ago. The idea came to me after finishing my last major project of listing some of the best OP/ED anime songs by a decade, including 70s, 80s, and 90s. In the beginning of the year, life was quite stressful, so I wanted to create a list of very uplifting, cheerful, and upbeat anime songs to improve my mood. Also, I watched the anime music tournament unfolding, which was organized by Omo, and could not believe how some excellent songs lost in the very first round and how many good songs didn’t even make it on the list. Thus, I decided to collect the most uplifting anime songs I could find in a comprehensive list (I am not aware of any similarly extensive list covering around 200 tracks). Here are some of my criteria:

– The song must provide energy – do not let nostalgia get in a way! Overtime, I removed some of the songs that had mostly nostalgic value, but were not sufficiently energetic. Nevertheless, some nostalgic songs still remain.

– Because I tend to work in long periods lasting several hours, the set of songs must be relatively diverse, covering different decades, music styles, and singers ( oh yes, I was sooo tempted to include almost all songs by Megumi Hayashibara๐Ÿ˜› ). For some modern flavor, I also included about a dozen doujin music tracks that are not really from anime, but they nicely added some variety.

– I mix the list (the wavy thingy button right under the list title) and tend to listen the music in the background while working on something. This way I do not see the next song and am always pleasantly surprised. Whenever I felt like skipping the song to move to the next, I deleted the song from the list. This way only the best songs remained. I could have done more pruning, but I’ll keep the list as is for now, but three will be some additional changes eventually.

– In case you want to watch some of the videos, I tried to include some very rare footage whenever multiple versions of a song were available. This way you’ll be able to see some of your favorite singers when they were young and just beginning their careers๐Ÿ™‚ Also, you may discover some older anime that you might not have even heard of – I certainly did in creating this list!๐Ÿ™‚

By no means it is a perfect list – everyone has a different taste, and I realize that some songs could be replaced by something better that I might have forgotten or am not aware of, but it is a good place to start if you like that kind of music. Also, some broken links will appear periodically on that list – I’ll fix them as they appear (I always link to the official version of a song whenever possible). For the best experience, make sure to mix the list before listening, and keep in mind that you can always skip a song if you don’t like it.

Track List Link: Upbeat Anime Music and Songs

Here are some of the songs from that list

Miki Kakizawa, “Fight! Iczer One”

Kou Otani, “Free Bird”

Konomi Suzuki, “Days of Dash”

Floating Cloud, ๆฑๆ–น็ฅž้œŠๅปŸใ€€๏ฝž Ten Desires

Yuki Kajiura and FictionJunction, “Nowhere”

Jun Fukuyama, Daisuke Ono, Kamiya Hiroshi, “Go to Heart Edge”

Kanno Yuugo, Bidy the Mighty DECODE Main Theme

“Geki Teikoku Kagekidan”

What about you? Do you know some uplifting, upbeat, happy anime songs that did not appear on that list?

I am always happy to hear your suggestions – the list is continuously evolving!๐Ÿ™‚

What about your own list? Perhaps, you could create a similar list, but with sad songs or some other theme? It could be fun!๐Ÿ™‚

14 comments

  1. Wow the list must have taken forever to build. Awesome songs! I’ve tried my hands at such ‘mixtapes’ if you’ve seen my post Eternal Summer exactly due to the need to cheer up myself. I have another similar list that has been waiting a couple of months to be published mostly because I hasn’t sit down properly to put the pieces in a satisfying order. I hope in the next month or so I’ll do something about it.


    • Well, it took about a year to build this list! haha

      Oh, thank you for mentioning these songs from you Eternal Summer collection! Interesting choices!๐Ÿ™‚ Most of them have a calming, relaxing feel๐Ÿ™‚

      From this list, my favorites are Tsuki to Knife (acoustic guitar), Path of the Wind (one of my favorite tracks of all time!), Natsukage (expected a piano solo, got something much better!), Natsu yuuzora (nice voice and relaxing piano).

      I look forward to hearing your other list!๐Ÿ™‚


      • Oh shoot! I got it mixed with Makenai *facepalm* Sorry. The summer mixtape was initially built for my tumblr, but decided to upload it on my blog, too. Makenai was before that and forgot the name.

        In Makenai I included ef-a tale of memories, too.The OP’s a strong song.

        I’m still discovering your list since it’s huge and I don’t have the music on all the time. Some of the song I’ve heard and really liked were: Accel World’s op, Ryokunohara Labyrinth (?), Ghost hound OP, Cowboy OP of course, birdy decode op2, natsu no arashi op, cutie honey op and that doujin song with the pink-haired girl. I like a lot free bird from haibane and bird’s song, too, though I find them more melancholic.


        • Oh, I see. No problem! I have to find Makenai!

          I am glad you liked those songs!๐Ÿ™‚


  2. A very happy Christmas to you and your loved ones. (^_^)

    I also use music to help me get through the day. Back when I had a rather stressful job, I’d go for a walk outside my building just before starting work, listening to a certain set of songs designed to perk me up for the long day ahead. The exact selections will vary depending on my mood, but here’s an example:

    – A couple of lively songs to get me pumped up, like “Ikaros” (by GReeeeN), “Someone Else” (the “Working!!” OP theme), and – I see this one’s on your list! – “Heart Edge” (the “Working!!” ED theme)
    – Some trailer/instrumental music for shifting into a more excited state and to put a spring in my step
    – To mellow out and put myself in a more relaxed state, songs from iyashikei series (the various theme songs from the “Aria” anime franchise are some of my favourites for this purpose)

    I’d mix and match depending on my needs for the day – kind of like blending my own medicine depending on the nature and severity of the ailment. Bit of this, bit of that, whatever it takes to meet whatever I’m facing.

    Cheers and happy listening.


    • Merry Christmas to you and yours too! ^_^

      I see. Thank you for sharing! Well, my entire list is very energetic or at least that was the aim, filled with songs like Someone or Heart Edge!๐Ÿ™‚

      Ah, like blending a medicine! I like that analogy!๐Ÿ™‚


  3. I know this is late, but [belated] Happy New Year! Hoping that 2015 will be another great year for you!

    I mix the list (the wavy thingy button right under the list title) and tend to listen the music in the background while working on something. This way I do not see the next song and am always pleasantly surprised.

    Ahh, shuffling songs in a playlist? I often do that nowadays, too, because I figured that I would always know which the next song is otherwise.

    So Kitsune-chan is known as Smile at YouTube? *Gomen, I did some stalking. Only as minimal, though, as knowing your YT username.

    Konomi Suzuki, โ€œDays of Dashโ€

    I absolutely love this song!๐Ÿ™‚ Also, have you watched the anime? It’s really good.

    Jun Fukuyama, Daisuke Ono, Kamiya Hiroshi, โ€œGo to Heart Edgeโ€

    WORKING!! season 1 OP and ED are my top favorite songs performed by seiyuu, because they sound so cheerful and I can’t help but dance when I listen to them! Plus, the anime’s a gem. If you enjoyed Miname-ke, perhaps you’ll find this pretty good, too.


    • Oh, it is just in time for the old new year! Happy New Year!๐Ÿ™‚ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_New_Year

      Exactly! I just can’t listen the songs in the same order because I’ll memorize it automatically! haha

      Well, I hope those music tracks can make you Smile! haha That’s the origin on the name!๐Ÿ™‚

      I found the “Days of Dash” song before watching anime and absolutely fell in love with it! It is such an emotional positive uplifting song – one of my favorites, even beyond this list! Then, by accident, I stumbled on the first episode of the anime and could not stop watching – it was so gripping for some reason. Probably, because of the crisis that the characters were going through. I watched all four episodes back to back, but stopped right there. It almost seemed like a perfect ending – the series didn’t really have to go any further. I felt that the rest of the series will be filled with some redundant things. I felt that if I watch the other episodes, my opinion of the series will drop. The first few episodes were not perfect, but they had a heart and sincerity in them that I enjoyed.๐Ÿ™‚

      Oh yes, Working!, and the dream team of the singers are great!๐Ÿ™‚ I liked both Minami-ke and Working! Indeed, the songs are very cheerful and very helpful in brightening my day!๐Ÿ™‚


  4. I’m a big fan of Days of Dash myself! (Oh you have to finish it, don’t stop at ep 4!) also that AMG’s Congratulations ED. A very classic one that never fails to cheer me up. (and wow, you have a Maison Ikkoku OP in here)

    Here are some of what I listen to if I need that happy adrenaline rush.

    Nisekoi – Click
    Daa Daa Daa – Heart no Tsubasa
    Negima – Happy Material
    Chihayafuru – Youthful
    Zoku Natsume – Ano hi Time Machine
    Infinite Stratos – Super Stream
    Bakemonogatari – ambivalent world
    Star Driver – Cross Over
    Kokoro Connect – Paradigm
    School Rumble – Scramble


    • I see. I’ll try to find time to finish Days of Dash then.

      Yes, Congratulations is just so cute, especially with this type of animation!๐Ÿ™‚

      As for Maison Ikkoku, that OP and Suki Sa is a must for me! haha

      Thank you very much for listing so many suggestions!๐Ÿ˜€ You totally get what I intended for this list! I’ll add most of your songs! The ones I especially liked are Happy Mateiral, Super Stream, and Ambivalent World!๐Ÿ™‚


  5. Hello Kitsune. Wow, for some reason, I decided to just skim by your blog and was pleasantly surprise to see some updates albeit I’ve been rather slow to catch up. But anyway, I’m glad to hear that things are going well with your studies and good to see you back blogging even if it’s scaled down. Oh, Happy New Year to you…it’s not too late of a wish I hope. There’s still the Lunar New Year on the horizon. ^_^;;

    Well, I have these songs among others on my playlist that keep me in an upbeat happy mood and sing along to๐Ÿ˜› :

    Jap – Abingdon Boys School (Sengoku Basara OP)
    Tenchi Gaeshi – Nico Touches the Walls (Haikyuu!! ED)
    Jikan yo Tomare – Azu (Itazura na Kiss ED2)
    Parade – Chaba (Naruto ED12)
    Sekai wa koi ni Ochiteiru – Chico (Ao Haru Ride OP)
    Shangri-la – Dengki Groove (Kuchu Buranko ED)
    Sora to kimi no Message – Choucho (Suisei no Gargantia ED)
    Summer Rain – Kobukuro (Cross Game OP)
    Youthful – 99radioservice (Chihayafuru OP)
    Wonderline – Yuki (CM song for NTT docomo)

    I guess they are not so high octane, might not even be your cup of tea and most are quite recent ones but yeah, these are some of my happy zone songs…haha.


    • Yay! Thank you for stopping by! I didn’t see any updates on your blog, so I was wondering if something happened. I am happy to hear from you!

      Thank you for the New Year wishes. Yes, Lunar New Year is close by, but it is relatively late this year: February 19!

      Thank you so much for your recommendations! Since our taste is somewhat similar, I like all these songs, especially

      Sora to kimi no Message – Choucho (Suisei no Gargantia ED)
      Sekai wa koi ni Ochiteiru – Chico (Ao Haru Ride OP)

      As you mention, some of them are not high octane, but are enjoyable nonetheless.


      • I found these Katou Tatsuya compositions to be uplifting as well. (I hope the youtube links work)


        Track 13 – Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon OST 2 – Hiding Determination (ketsui wo himete)
        This one is a particular favorite of mine. I really like how the opening builds and builds, draws you in and captures you with its rousing strings and then explodes in raptures with the full force of the instrumentation. And you kinda just think, wow…what was that I’m feeling at the end. Lol.


        Track 31 – Clear Blue Notes Free!ES OST – Departure for the Future
        This one has a similar quality albeit a little tone down. But it captures the mood rather well, the way I feel when I am taking off for somewhere, fill with anticipation & excitement.

        And on what happened to me:
        On the blogging front, real life got a choke hold of me. The past year has seen me on work related traveling a fair bit and then some. Most of the time, I discover that I don’t have spare energy to write. So an indefinite hiatus ensues. I still follow ani-manga stuff of course. I just prefer reading and watching these days and yes, picking up and listening to soundtracks I like. Not so much talking about them anymore…although I do still comment on some sites & forums. But who knows, I might get back to it in some form or other, perhaps not on my own. ^_^


        • Ketsui wo Himete and Clear Blue Notes Free! Oh wow! Amazing! I love it! Thank you so much for mentioning them!๐Ÿ˜€ This is exactly what I needed! Adding both to my track list! ^_^

          Ah, I see. Yes, real life can become hectic. Good to hear that at least you still find the time and energy to read, watch, and listen๐Ÿ™‚ If you find some good music, please do share, even if it is just a brief impression on Twitter, instead of a detailed blog review post. Have fun and may life give you a little bit more space and free time๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

