I enjoy anime music videos (AMVs) very much because they are unique works of art. An editor has to make a story based on footage from one or several anime and add appropriate music. It is not an easy task.

I find that very few AMVs have appropriate music or good story. Yet there is something particular about AMVs. While musical clips is a similar medium, they serve to illustrate and amplify the song first and foremost. I believe the best AMVs elicit the emotions we felt when we saw the original anime.

Some AMVs can be enjoyable even when you have not seen the anime it was based on, but the effect is much greater when you know who the characters are and what they go through. While other AMVs don’t have any particular story to tell and just look pretty.

Over the years I saw many AMVs, but liked only very few of them. Since I posted about 50 AMVs, it might be a daunting task to go through them all at one time. Thus, I wanted to make a subset of the AMVs that I consider the best. Please tell me if you liked any of these AMVs 🙂

Drama/Sentimental

Rurouni Kenshin OVA – Trust and Betrayal
Now and Then, Here and There – Hope
Haibane Renmei – Hello
Cowboy Bebop – Call Me, Call Me
Neon Genesis Evangelion – Faithless
Do You Remember Love – Show Must Go On

Comedy

Azumanga Daioh – Lord of Rings Trailer
Azumanga Daioh – Are you still preoccupied with 1985?

Action

Escaflowne – Path

Romance

Millennium Actress – Storm
Haruhi Suzumiya – Ever the Same

Special Effects

Haibane Renmei and Kimi Ga Nozomu Eien – Reflections
Memory Flash – Multieditor project
NieA Under Seven – Silence

Performance/Singing/Dancing

Haruhi Suzumiya – God Knows
Elvis and Anime

Ghibli Tributes

Walking in the Air
Ghibli Collection

You can see other AMVs under my Anime Music Videos category or check out the Vodpod widget on the sidebar.

What other AMVs are your favorites?

4 thoughts on “Best Anime Music Videos

  1. Those were nice AMVs, thanks for sharing.

    I must say that a certain Haruhi AMV entitled Skittles was fun and one of my favorites…

Leave a comment