Aoi Bungaku (Blue Literature): No Longer Human (人間失格, Ningen Shikkaku) based on a novel by Osamu Dazai.

Music and sound are excellent, but, unfortunately, the director is not very good and too repetitive. This anime reminded me of Kurozuka in a way, probably, due to Masanori Shino’s involvement and Madhouse production in general.

It was somewhat surprising that they started with the second memorandum. No Longer Human part will have four episodes, so I am not sure how it will turn out. It seems the plan is to employ flashbacks quite frequently.

It is nice to see these works animated. I hope people will take interest in the books this anime is based on and take the time to read them.

Some Trivia:

– “No Longer Human” is Kōji Kumeta and Nozomu Itoshiki’s favorite book
– Dazai might have suffered a complex post-traumatic stress disorder while writing this novel

10 thoughts on “Aoi Bungaku: Ningen Shikkaku 1

  1. this looks like a horror movie. i’ve read the book twice and i don’t see how such a dreary interpretation could appeal to me. i’m tempted to pass this one up..

  2. Definitely watching this series. What attracts me is the different stories the series will cover. The first story’s design indeed resembled that of Kurozuka…I don’t mind it so much as it’s the story telling that I’m after. The first episode of Ningen Shikkaku is a tad confusing though. Did Oba push the woman off the edge? It doesn’t seem like a suicide thingy to me.

  3. haven’t seen this one yet, but I think I’m going to watch it after the subs came out and I’ve downloaded it lol.

    I’m intrested in Ningen Shikakku after reading Bungaku Shoujo… meh, can’t wait to see how this one will turn out.

    1. It might take a while for the subs because this show does not have traps and other fanservice 😛 I am sure someone will release them eventually.

Leave a comment