Writing and reading top anime lists is an interesting activity because writing one requires some reflection and introspection, while reading one may help people discover some good old shows and learn about the general preferences of authors of such lists. This is a compilation of top anime of the decade 2000-2009 lists 🙂

As with any ordered lists of shows, the rank itself is not as important as the reason behind the preferences because people may like different aspects of an anime.

The posts are listed in chronological order by date of publication ( I’ll write one too sometime this month 🙂 ). I might conduct some statistical analysis on these lists later if time permits.

These are reflective posts:

Looking back on 00’s: Part 1. Flow of 00’s, Part 2: Marketing by Muhootsaver

Series of posts on anime trends in the first decade of the 21st century.

2000-2009 Part 1: Looking Back by sdshamshel

Reflection on the trends of the decade.

Anime decade: From ‘Japan Cool’ to ‘cooling off’ by Matt Alt

“I was surprised and shocked to witness the rise of anime in the 1990s, and now I feel those same emotions again as I watch it collapse in slow motion. Truly, the early 2000s timeline reads like the plot of an epic novel with an appropriately apocalyptic anime ending.”


2000-2009 – Decade Summary Part 1 by Psgels

Very detailed post listing top three shows for each year and season with brief impressions.

Leaders of the Pack: 2000-2009 by Omo

Well-described unordered list of favorites with some retrospective.

Top 50 Anime Series of the Decade by Gaguri

Excellent ordered list with over 4000 words, characterizing each anime. This list inspired several other people to create their own 🙂

50 animes of the decade by Sasa

Ordered list that includes many all-time favorites as well.

Top 50 Anime of the decade by Cokematic

Ordered list that also includes anime movies and OVAs.

Super Exhaustive 2000-2009 Anime List with Notes so You will Learn by Tj_han

List with brief impressions by genre.

Anime Favorites: 2000-2009 by Animekritik

Heading to a deserted island? Take these five shows with you 🙂

My Top 20 OVAs, Movies , Series of the Decade 2000-2009 by Chii

Ordered lists that feature some not very widely-known anime.

Best of the Noughties – 25 Favourite Anime by J1m0ne

“…a good show should always be a good show no matter the subject matter and the intended audience.”

Top 10 Anime Films of the Decade [2000-2009] by Cello

Ordered list with links to full reviews.

200 (+) Anime Worth Taking With Us Into the Next Decade by 21stcenturydigitalboy

“a list of every single worthwhile anime of the past decade.”

Last post of 2009: Anime decade lists, To my readers and Happy Holidays! by Canne

Top five anime series, movies, and OPs

Recapping the decade 2000-2009 by Miz

Selection of anime by year with commentary.

Fifty Noughties animu speculation (first half), (second half) by Martin

Ordered list with commentary.

Zzeroparticle’s List of 20 Noteworthy Anime Titles

“My list of twenty titles that made an impact upon me in this past decade. ”

My Top Eleven Anime Of The Decade by Omisyth

Ordered list with impressions for each show.

And before the decade concludes, here’s my top eleven anime of the 2000s by Fangzhao

Ordered list with commentary, including an anime that is described simply as “perfection”.

AC’s Top 20 Anime of the Decade

“…a decade of wonderful anime titles, most of them contributing to my all-time best list”

Sorrow-kun’s List of 50 Great Anime of the Decade 2000-2009

Ordered list of 50 anime with commentary.

Best Anime of the Decade: 2000-2009 by Kitsune

Ordered list with AMVs, OP/EDs, excerpts from anime, and links to reviews.

20 Awesomest Anime of the Decade (2000-2009) by Brikhaus

“My list probably won’t sit well with the pretentious arthouse goons or the moe-loving fapboys, but rest assured these anime are actually good shows.”

20 Decade Highlights by Kavik Ryx

“for all the anime I’ve missed this decade, I feel blessed that I had the opportunity have seen these ones.”

Japanator’s Top 50 Anime of the Decade

Ordered list with an interesting choice for the top spot…

My Noughties in Anime by Absolute0

“I am by no means proclaiming that these series are the best of the decade. Some of them might be on your list, some of them might not. Whatever the case, I definitely enjoyed these.”

A Reflection on a Decade by Shadowmage

Ordered lists of top 20 series and top 20 films/OVAs.


I’ll keep updating this post. Please let me know of any other decade posts that I might have missed 🙂

If you would like to write a post, but don’t recall all the anime shows of the decade ( very few, if any, can remember all of them 😛 ), these resources might be helpful.

51 thoughts on “Best Anime of the Decade 2000-2009 Lists

  1. i should do one of these! they look fun and it’s always a great read to see what other pick. i especially liked Gaguri’s list and the way it was set up 🙂

    1. Yes, it is a fun exercise, and I also like reading what others choose 🙂

      Indeed, Gaguri’s post is very good 🙂

      I look forward to your list 🙂

  2. wow. that’s a lot of animes….which means…mad catch-up time 🙂
    but thanks for the list references….i wonder if the lists can generally be taken to reflect the likings of different age-groups? take terra he, crest of the stars trilogy, Le Chevalier d’Eon, Simoun, Red Garden, 12 Kingdoms…these don’t have the outright fan-service, but they do deliver in terms of finer plot and story-telling, and tend to start out slow(-er).
    But the clincher for me will always, of course, be the OSTs 🙂

    1. Yes, many many anime, but you don’t have to watch them all at once – take your time and consume those that seem the most interesting first 🙂

      You are welcome 🙂

      Oh yes, music is a big part of an anime experience for me too 😀

      A list can be a reflection of a preference. Preferences depend on the personality and general worldview of the spectators. Most people form their personality in their 20s and change relatively little later in life. The highest variability happens in the teenage years when people are still trying to find their identity. In part, that is why some people hate the shows they once loved. Age by itself might be a predictor of a preference, but I don’t expect to see a large effect size because inter-individual variability is high. It is best to combine age with other stable trait measures.

  3. I’m gonna make my own list, except it’s going to be tiny because I haven’t seen that many shows!!

    I definitely think you should not only write your own list, but also sift through the lists and identify the patterns, etc.

  4. Nice compile. I like these lists, and oh if you want help in generating some sort of statistical representation let me know, or we can collab on wave or something. These formats are the perfect representation of “relative rating” though, having more than 10-20 works better. O.o

    1. for better or worse everyone’s doing 2000-2009 so… technically, yes, the first year was 1 so the decade starts 2001. but then, we’d have to wait for another year to do these posts!!

  5. It is rather interesting to read how other anime bloggers chose their top 50. Now I’m intrigued how mine and yours would look like if we’ll make one. (but it’s impossible for me this year T^T)

      1. >> finals this week -_-. though it’ll be over by 17. I guess I’ll try to brew some drafts though. Also I actually didn’t started watching animes by the year 2000 so I might miss some notable ones.

        1. Good luck on your finals! 🙂

          Celebrating the end of the semester with writing some anime lists is a fun activity 🙂

          That’s ok, you could mention what you enjoyed the most 🙂

  6. Reading those lists is fun and makes me realize how different each anime fans are. For each list, only half of the listed anime are the ones I would have chosen. I’ll have to make that kind of list, too, I suppose 🙂

  7. I wouldn’t have chosen half the anime listed in those lists. Clearly everyone has their own taste. Nevertheless, I kinda want to do this kind of list as well but maybe a shorter one 🙂

  8. I’m inspired to do one of these. It’s really nice to compile back and post about all anime I loved back then~ Though I’ll personally find it hard to do rankings, maybe I’ll just list them by year instead ^^.

  9. Thanks for making this post. It’s pretty interesting to read all those lists and people’s favourites of the decade. Time sure flies…10 years worth of anime… that’s a lot to pick from. I think that I only ever watch less than half of the titles mentioned on those lists. So they can become useful references for me. I don’t think I’ll be making such a list myself…maybe on OSTs if I have time. However, I’m looking forward to reading your selections. Should be fun. 🙂

  10. Why is Pokemon not on the list? It has always been reported as highly popular in Japan on other websites….This makes no sense. Please, someone tell me why Pokemon is no longer popular.

Leave a comment