Hi, everyone! It has been a while! I am returning to (occasional) blogging!


We live in unique times. I would like to share some of my impressions.

I have not watched many anime recently.

What anime that aired in the past 10 years would you recommend? Fantasy setting or surreal comedies like Azumanga or Nichijou would work well. I am thinking of watching Frieren later this year.

Some of my most salient memories from the past few years are covered below in a highly abbreviated form. The past few years have been especially challenging for me. I am covering only some positive things in this post.

Games

These recent masterpieces especially impressed me. I consider them some of my favorite games ever.

Witcher 3

  • Amazing huge world
  • Numerous poignant stories
  • Atmospheric music

Dragon Quest XI

  • Genuinely surprising
  • Excellent level design
  • Magical music

Fire Emblem: Three Houses

  • The only game that I completed multiple times. Each route shows a different perspective and deepens the story.
  • In contrast to Witcher 3, the explorable world is incredibly small, yet the game manages to be engaging and interesting.
  • Absolutely amazing music that made me cry!

Granblue Fantasy: Versus

  • Narmaya is a perfect manifestation of my favorite fighting style
  • Interesting PvE systems
  • Uplifting music

Old World

  • Masterpiece strategy and RPG synergy
  • Amazing artwork
  • Relaxing music

FFXIV: Endwalker

  • Finale of a story lasting… around 10 years (since release)
  • Emotional roller-coaster
  • That Venat monologue scene… light everlasting…
  • Epic music

Music

Some music I have been listening recently are listed below.

Anime

Some anime/novels that I recall watching and enjoying recently are listed below.

Danmachi

  • Excellent fantasy world
  • Wholesome protagonist
  • Riveria
  • Good stories in Danmemo game (e.g., Astrea Record and Knights of Fianna)
  • Fantastic music

I plan to repair what I can on this blog, approve and respond to pending comments, and think about potential new content. Please share if you have any ideas. ^_^

4 thoughts on “Life Update: 2023

  1. For anime with fantasy settings, I’d recommend:

    Made in Abyss – great music, animation, and bckground art that makes for a really immersive world)

    Land of the Lustrous – unique setting for this medium with genderless gemstone people and an unfolding mystery behind it all. If you like the anime, I’d also recommend the manga which goes to a lot darker places.

    Ranking of Kings – cool storybook art style and great animation with a pair of wholesome protags that are really easy to love in the face of the adversity they go through

    For surreal comedies:

    Pop Team Epic – unhinged shitpost-y comedy with a ton of different styles of animation

    I don’t watch that much comedy anime, but I hope these recommendations help.

Leave a comment