Image Source: Blanca Paloma – EAEA, official music video

This post highlights my top favorite songs in Eurovision 2023.


Blanca Paloma – EAEA. I love the energy of this song.

“Eaea is described as a song to “honour” the singer’s roots, as a “celebration of female ancestors’ power and strength” and as “representing a chant” to Paloma’s late grandmother Carmen, who had inspired much of her music and introduced her to flamenco” ( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eaea_(song) )

Lyrics excerpt (English translation):

My child, when I die
May they bury me in the Moon
So that I’ll see you every night

This interview partially covers a meaning behind the song.


Pasha Parfeni – Soarele şi Luna. I like the primal vibe of this song. Per Pasha Parfeni, the song is about love and about how the universe works: “when you make the right decision, the whole universe aligns with what you want to do.”


Luke Black – Samo Mi Se Spava. What an interesting setting and song! Per Luke Black, “the song talks about people needing to wake up, because evil multiplies when people keep their eyes closed to it. Only by waking up can it be defeated.” ( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samo_mi_se_spava )

I also liked the acoustic version, especially the violin.


Marco Mengoni – Due Vite. The gradual music build-up and the raw emotion of the singer nearly brought me to tears! What a performance!


Gustaph – Because Of You. If I had to choose one song, it would be Because of You – excellent upbeat music and a positive message promoting resilience.

Leave a comment