New Anime Summer 2009

I am going to list most of the shows scheduled for July 2009 in chronological order as documented by Anime News Network, and then I’ll give you a brief synopsis with my thoughts and notes about each anime (grouped by day of the week) with trailers and links to my previews.

Summer Wars (movie) 2009-08-01
Pocket Monster Diamond & Pearl: Chōkoku no Jikū e (movie) 2009-07-18
Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 (TV) 2009-07-09 to …
Spice and Wolf II (TV) 2009-07-08 to …
Sora no Manimani (TV) 2009-07-07 to …
GA: Geijutsuka Art Design Class (TV) 2009-07-06 to …
AIKa ZERO (OAV) 2009-07-05
Kanamemo (TV) 2009-07-05 to …
Kuruneko (TV) 2009-07-05 to …
Princess Lover! (TV) 2009-07-05 to …
CANAAN (TV) 2009-07-04 to …
Cobra The Animation: Rokunin no Yūshi (TV) 2009-07-04 to …
Elementhunters (TV) 2009-07-04 to …
Soreike! Anpanman: Baikinman vs Baikinman!? (movie) 2009-07-04
Soreike! Anpanman: Dadandan to Futago no Hoshi (movie) 2009-07-04
Yoku Wakaru Gendai Mahō (TV) 2009-07-04 to …
Zan Sayonara Zetsubō Sensei (TV) 2009-07-04 to …
Bakemonogatari (TV) 2009-07-03 to …
Needless (TV) 2009-07-02 to …
Taishō Yakyū Musume. (TV) 2009-07-02 to …
Sweet Blue Flowers (TV) 2009-07-01 to …
Umineko no Naku Koro ni (TV) 2009-07-01 to …
Pénélope tête en l’air (TV 2/2009) 2009-06-29 to …
Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka (OAV) 2009-06-26
Fight Ippatsu! Jūden-chan!! (TV) 2009-06-25 to …
Umi Monogatari ~Anata ga Ite Kureta Koto~ (TV) 2009-06-24 to …

29 thoughts on “New Anime Summer 2009: Mermaids in Despair

  1. Hey, you finally post your summer anime list. Lovely. I’ll be watching Canaan, Sora no Manimani, Bakemonogatari,Umineko no Naku Koro ni, Tokyo M 8.0…all new shows plus hopefully catch Summer Wars the movie. 🙂 Truthfully, I’m more interested the Fall/Winter line-up but these few gotta do for now.

    1. Yes, it took me a while to post it due to my relocation.

      That’s a nice show selection you have 🙂 I look forward to the Fall season too, especially Winter Sonata 🙂

  2. Dang, that’s a lot of material to go through.

    I’m only following half a dozen shows this season (http://animeaffairs.wordpress.com/2009/06/10/2009-summer-anime-viewing-list/)- plus the Summer Wars film, of course – mostly because I’m going back to work in a couple of weeks. Not even sure if I’ll have the time to actively follow them all.

    Finally, that’s one great portrait of Itoshiki-sensei. Mind if I ask where I can get a larger version? It should look great as desktop wallpaper. 😉

    Cheerio.

    1. Half a dozen shows is plenty ( too many for me probably 😛 )!

      Have fun at your new work – I hope it will be more fulfilling that the previous one 🙂

      I also liked this portrait very much 🙂 Unfortunately, this picture is not available in high resolution 😦

  3. I just watched the first episode of Umi Monogatari – it was wonderful! ^^ Have you decided which series you’re planning to watch yet?

    1. Well, it is funny that you mention that because I also saw Umi recently, and am in the process of taking screenshots right now 😀

      You can find my list of the shows I’ll check out on the last page of this post, but, with the exceptions of Zan Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei, that I’ll blog for sure regardless, I have not decided on the shows I’ll watch or blog – it will take a couple of episodes to make such a decision.

  4. Wow, I’m impressed by how much info you managed to find about each series! You even included the summer movies; I’m personally really excited for “Summer Wars”
    After watching some of the trailers though, it actually has changed my impression a bit on what I plan to watch, thanks for all the info!

    1. Yes, it took sometime to go through each anime.

      I am also excited about Summer Wars 🙂

      I am glad that my post was useful to you 🙂

  5. Just as expected of you…comprehensive anime watch list!

    LOLZ at blogging Canaan because of Maaya Sakomoto. Straight to the point!

    1. Yup, I try to write detailed previews of most of the shows 🙂

      Well, I am not committed to blogging Canaan yet, but I’ll check it out primarily due to Maaya 🙂

  6. wow. thx for the info. do u know where i could watch CANAAN and Princess Lover subbed? and are the echii? im only 11 so i cant watch anyone having *** but nudity and stuff is fine with me.

  7. “Oh dear ! Oh dear ! I shall be too late !”
    Seeing this list and my backlog, I think I’ll just pass and wait down the rabbit hole until Fall 😀

Leave a comment